Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Finding Images: Museum Collections

How and where to find images and moving images online and through library databases.

Spurlock Museum

Looking to visit a museum? 

UIUC has its very own museum: Spurlock Museum!

Admission is free, and with approximately 45,000 objects in its artifact collection, the Spurlock Museum at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign celebrates our shared humanity by collecting, preserving, documenting, exhibiting, and studying objects of cultural heritage.

Hours and Location:

600 S. Gregory St. Urbana, IL

  • Tuesday: 12-5
  • Wed, Thurs, Fri: 9-5
  • Saturday:10-4
  • Sunday: 12-4
  • Closed on Mondays & University holidays

Museum Collections

These are just some of the online available museum exhibits. Looking for more? Ask A Librarian!

 

Art Institute of Chicago
View highlighted parts of permanent collections at the Art institute online by clicking "Collections". Browse through collections or do a quick search to see artwork and information about both the art and the artists.

Hermitage Museum, St. Petersburg 
A highly interactive website from one of the most renowned museums in the world. You can browse through their digital collection or take a virtual tour of the library, which features beautiful panoramic pictures of both the interior and exterior of the museum. Digital collection features reproductions of paintings, armor, costumes, jewelry, archeological artifacts, etc.

Lester S. Levy Sheet Music Collection
John Hopkins University's Special Collections presents a searchable database of sheet music including images of covers and music.

Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York 
Features highlights of their permanent collection and special exhibits, but the digital collection is very interactive and allows you to isolate and zoom in on certain parts of the picture. Collection includes paintings, photography, costumes, armor, sculpture, etc.

National Gallery of Art, Washington D.C. 
Contains annotated, high-quality digital reproductions of the gallery's paintings, drawings, sculpture, photography, architecture, etc.

National Gallery, London 
View the entire collection of the National Gallery online. The zoom feature allows you to examine the works so closely that you can count the brushstrokes on certain paintings.

Victoria and Albert Museum
The searchable collections of the Victoria and Albert Museum. Contains over 290,000 searchable images of the collection, which exceedes 1.1 million items.

Subject Guide

Undergraduate Library's picture
Undergraduate Library
Contact:
1402 W. Gregory Dr. Urbana, IL 61801
(217) 333-3477
Website