Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Finding Images: Historical Images

How and where to find images and moving images online and through library databases.

Map and Geography Library

Looking for historical images, especially from newspapers?

Try the History, Philosophy, and Newspaper Library, located in the Main Library.

Historical Images

America's Historical Documents: National Archives
A database of America's most important and interesting historical documents, from the most recognized to the most surprising.

CLAROS
A database of the art of ancient Greece and Rome, collected by international researchers. Contains images of artifacts as well as prings, drawings, and photographs.

Library of Congress American Memory 
A national archive project that collects all sorts of historical materials including digital reproductions of photographs, maps, prints as well as sound and video recordings.

Machiel Kiel Photographic Archive: Ottoman Empire
Archive of Machiel Kiel, professor studying the Ottoman Empire and the Balkan countries. Contains around 1,300 images, and is a growing collection as the Netherlands Institute in Turkey continues digitizing Kiel's papers.

McKenney and Hall: History of the Indian Tribes
Images of the history of Indian Tribes in the United States, including 120 portraits.

National Park Services: Harpers Ferry Center
Includes an historic photo collection of more than two million images of national park architecture, Civilian Conservation Corps, Native American heritage, and more.

New York Public Library Digital Gallery 
An image database of over 300,000 items taken directly from primary sources at the New York Public Library. Browse by general topic area or search by keyword.

Russian Posters Collection; 1919-1989
Consists of 75 Russian posters, documenting almost 60 years of Communist political advertising (1920s-1980s).

Subject Guide

Undergraduate Library's picture
Undergraduate Library
Contact:
1402 W. Gregory Dr. Urbana, IL 61801
(217) 333-3477
Website