Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Mobile-Friendly Resources

Provides information about mobile-friendly research apps and websites available through the library as well as other helpful Illinois specific apps.

Mobile Apps

American Chemical SocietyThe American Chemical Society provides access to their publications with mobile apps for Android and Apple products. In order to access full text through the app, you must be connected to the University's wi-fi or through VPN.

 

ArtStorArtStor is an image library for the arts and sciences. They have a mobile app available for Android devices and mobile-friendly website for Apple products.

 

ArXivArXiv provides open access to 888,494 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics. There is an app available for both Android and Apple devices.

 

EbraryEbrary, one of the university's ebook providers, has a mobile app available for Android and Apple devices. Visit this ProQuest Library Guide to learn more.

 

EBSCOhostEBSCOhost, a resource that provides online access to several journals and databases like Academic Search Complete, has mobile materials and apps available for both Apple and Android devices. Go to the library's access page to start using EBSCOhost.

 

Encyclopaedia BritannicaEncyclopædia Britannica has a free app for Apple devices.

 

GaleGale offers several apps that are free to students by selecting state, community and college, then supplying the e-mail address issued by the university.

 

Naxos Music LibraryNaxos Music Library allows users to create playlists from their over 1 millions tracks and has an app for both Android and Apple devices. 

 

ScieVerse Science DirectScieVerse ScienceDirect has a mobile app for Apple products.

 

ScopusScopus is an online database that provides access to articles in cience, technology, medicine, social sciences and Arts & Humanities and has a mobile app available for Apple products.

General Apps

Dictionary.comDictionary.com has a mobile app for both Android and Apple

 

Merriam-Webster Merriam-Webster has a mobile app for both Android and Apple.

 

WikipediaWikipedia has a mobile app available for both Android and Apple. There is also a mobile-friendly version of the English website.

WolframAlpha WolframAlpha, the tool that is both encyclopedia and search engine, has a mobile app available for both Android and Apple. There is also a mobile-friendly website.