Databases - Water Filtration Engineering - Westfall - LibGuides at University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Tips and Tricks

Quotations, quotations, quotations! These are invaluable for specificity in searching.

Follow the little blue box. The "Discover Full-Text" link should connect you to the complete document, either in the same database or within a different database subscribed to by the University-- let the links lead you!

Can't locate the full text of a document? Try running a Google search of the title. It's not a foolproof solution, but can come in handy!

Overwhelmed by the number of results? Look around! Database results pages often provide tools to narrow down your results. Common options include sorting by publication date, document type, and geographic area, among others.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier
A useful starting point for your research. Quotations are helpful, as are the "Refine your results" options to the left of the results list.
Sweet Search
SweetSearch is a Google-powered custom search engine that only searches 35,000 Web sites that a staff of research experts deems credible. Be sure to put quotes around your search terms!
Google Scholar
The academic arm of the world's most popular search engine, this database provides peer-reviewed articles that you can narrow by document type, date of publication, and relevance. Don't forget to use those sorting tools!

To see the full text of many of these sources, you need to be "authenticated" as a legitimate UIUC user. Do so by searching for the source title on the A-Z list of electronic journals and databases. Also try the advanced search.

Specialized Databases

These databases are designed to provide information for the sciences. Follow the Discover Full-Text blue box for complete articles!

ScienceDirect
Pro tip: Put all your search terms, including "point of use" and "water systems" into one line.
Web of Knowledge
Be in the Know: Quotations are a must when searching this database. Also, you'll perform a "Topic" search rather than a "Keyword" search.
Engineering Village
A useful resource, though not all items labeled as full-text actually are so. If a particular title seems useful but isn't available in full-text, try copying and pasting the title into Google or the EPA site.

Subject Guide

University High School Library

Email Me

Water Filtration Engineering - Westfall: Databases

Tips and Tricks

Multidisciplinary Databases

Specialized Databases

Subject Guide