LibGuides: Apartheid: Background Information

Background Information

Apartheid, an Afrikaans word meaning, "apartness," is defined in Article 7 of the Rome Statute of the International Court as a crime against humanity and most often refers to the racial segregation in South Africa from 1948 until the early 1990s. Use the following resources to learn more about Apartheid. You can also learn more about the student group, Champaign-Urbana Coalition Against Apartheid, in the University Archives.

Oxford Research Encyclopedia of African History
Contains in-depth articles on South African history, including many aspects of apartheid.
Encyclopedia of South Africa
Contains wide-ranging articles on South African culture, politics, and history.
Encyclopedia of Human Geography
Explores geography through the lens of human diversity and difference. Contains articles on apartheid and post-apartheid, as well as touching on apartheid in broader discussions of race, racism, segregation, and ghettoization.
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism
Examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modem era.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Reference tool/magazine that gives overviews of major topic areas. Includes articles, lists of other resources, as well as Pro and Con sides for most topics.
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Contains a general overview of civil rights movements in different countries, specific civil rights legislation in the United States, and other topics related to civil rights.