Arkyves is a database, treasure trove and toolbox for those interested in the History of Culture. It is a single access point for thematic searches across a wide variety of cultural heritage collections, contributed by partners like the Dutch Rijksmuseum, the Netherlands Institute for Art History, the Herzog August Bibliothek, and the university libraries of Milan, Utrecht, Glasgow, and the University of Illinois.
The ARTstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides over 1.9 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. Its community-built collections comprise contributions from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.
Hosted by Flickr, The Commons is a public photo collection that began in 2008 as a collaboration between Flickr and the Library of Congress. It has since expanded to include the collections of over 45 institutions including NASA, the Imperial War Museum, and the New York Public Library.
Here you will find records representing a sampling of collections created by the libraries and cultural heritage organizations using CONTENTdm today. Some records represent individual collections; some connect you to entire digital libraries. Each record attempts to describe the breadth and depth of the resources you will find when you access the site using the URL listed in each record. Sample collections include images of of actors, aerial views, posters, and woodblock prints.
The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science.
Europeana provides access to over six million digital items, including images, texts, sounds, and videos. It is funded by the European Commission and its member states, and includes content from museum, galleries, libraries, archives, and audio-visual collections. The extensive list of organizations that Europeana pulls its content from includes notable institutions such as the Rijksmuseum, the British Library, and the Louvre.
Flickr is an online photo management and sharing application that currently contains over 6 billion photos and video. Amateur and professional photographers alike share their content via Creative Commons licenses, and join communities centered around themes such as architecture and urban design or dance.
The Harry Ransom Center is an internationally renowned humanities research library and museum. Its extensive holdings provide a unique record of the creative process of writers and artists, deepening our understanding of literature, photography, film, art, and the performing arts. The Center maintains a Guide to Collections to help users identify relevant materials.
Includes numerous collections that are openly available to the public, as well as some that are subscription based. Content covers topics ranging from science to poetry. This site is easy to navigate and contains high quality images and video. Users may browse by format.
A vast catalog includes titles from over 800 leading filmmakers, producers and distributors from around the globe, including First Run Features, Media Education Foundation, Documentary Educational Resources, Green Planet Films, Kino Lorber, Medcom, Psychotherapy. net, Michael Blackwood, Ronin Films, The Roland Collection, and many more.
As described, "The LUNA Commons is where public collections are aggregated and viewed in our powerful LUNA browser. While most other collection building tools create isolated collections we’ve built a system that allows institutions to easily share and promote their public collections. The LUNA Commons provides free access to hundreds of thousands of images from reputable sources for educational and public use" The Commons includes collections such as the Catena Historic Gardens and Landscapes, the Cornell Political Americana Collection, the Hoover Institution's Collection of Russian posters, the Online Archive of California, the John Carter Brown Library's Early American Images, and historical maps from the David Rumsey Collection, Japanese Historical Maps, and Maps of Africa.
The archives of mission 21 / Basel Mission contain historical photographs, written records, printed and hand-drawn maps, and building plans about the "intersection of African, European, and Asian cultures from 1850-1950." The images were taken in the historic Basel Mission fields in Africa and Asia, with a principal focus on Ghana, Cameroon, South India (mainly Karnataka and Kerala), South China (mainly Hakka-speaking parts of the Guangdong province and Hong Kong), and Kalimantan. Users can search by keyword, or browse by theme, geographic location, named individuals, institutions, photographers, or original series grouping.
New York Public Library's Digital Gallery provides free access to 550,000 images from rare primary sources in the NYPL's collection, including including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more. Although one won't find well known artworks here, the variety of resources found provides extraordinary supplemental information.
An online journal with a focus on public domain material, specifically "curiosities and wonders" from a wide range of archives. While there is a search feature, content is broken up into themed essays and is best used for browsing.
One of the world's finest collections of photography, artwork and mapping which records over 500 years of travel, people, place and geographical discovery from the 1480's to the present day. The Royal Geographical Society (with The Institute of British Geographers) holds a collection of over 3/4 million photographic images dating from 1850 and the largest private map collection in the world with over 1,000,000 maps dating from 1486.
The Science and Society Picture Library represent the visual content of the National Museums of Science and Industry. Our trio of museums are London's Science Museum, the National Railway Museum and the National Media Museum. Images are high quality, but watermarked. Users will need to pay for use.
Shared Shelf Commons is a free, open-access library of images. Search and browse collections with tools to zoom, print, export, and share images. As Shared Shelf Commons is a product of ARTstor, users familiar with the ARTstor Digital Library will recognize many of the built in searching, viewing, and sharing options.
The SIRIS image gallery contains over 266,000 images from several archival repositories and museums at the Smithsonian Institution. The content of the images is wide ranging, including categories such as aircraft, Latino culture, and American gardens. Images are organized by medium, culture, and archive. In addition, the collection offers extensive search capabilities. The Smithsonian welcomes you to make fair use of the content as defined by copyright law.
The digital collections of the Library of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign are built from the rich special collections of its Rare Book & Manuscript Library; Illinois History and Lincoln Collection, University Archives; Map Library; and Sousa Archives & Center for American Music, among other units. The collections include historic photographs; maps; prints and watercolors; bookplates; architectural drawings and blueprints; letters and other archival materials; videos; political cartoons; and advertisements. They cover a wide range of subject areas including Illinois and American history, music, theater history, and the history of the University of Illinois, among others. The Library’s digital collections provide access to some of its most unique holdings for teaching, learning, and research for students, scholars and the general public.
VADS is "the online resource for visual arts. It has provided services to the academic community for 12 years and has built up a considerable portfolio of visual art collections comprising over 100,000 images that are freely available and copyright cleared for use in learning, teaching and research in the UK." The images are very high quality and accompanied by thorough metadata. Searching and browsing is enabled, and once users sign up for a free account, access to a personalized 'lightbox' is enabled. VADS also includes teaching resources for the K-12 community.
Developed by the Wellcome Library, one of the world's major resources for medical history, Wellcome Images mainly focuses on images related to medicine and biomedical science. However, there are numerous disciplinary images and galleries, and the over 100,000 freely available high resolution images makes this collection worth looking at.
The WikiMedia Commons makes available public domain and freely-licensed educational media. Maintained by volunteers, users can upload their own images, request images, identify images, and subscribe to syndicated feeds.
The mission of the WDL is to "make available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world." There is a wide variety of content from numerous institutions.
WorldImages Kiosk provides access to California State University's IMAGE project, providing access to over over 50,000 images. The database includes portfolios organized into topics such as daily life, philosophy, and revolution, which are then further subdivided. While this enables browsing, it can be difficult to navigate. One can view all of the portfolios by clicking on the "portfolios list" in the menu. The images found in these collections are large and good quality, and can even be zoomed in on with software called 'zoomify.'