The Sustainable Sites Initiative is an interdisciplinary effort by the American Society of Landscape Architects, the Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center and the United States Botanic Garden to create voluntary national guidelines and performance benchmarks for sustainable land design, construction and maintenance practices.

Landscape Architecture, Sustainability, and Environmental News.

The National Center for Appropriate Technology program that provides "information and technical assistance to farmers, ranchers, Extension agents, educators, and others involved in sustainable agriculture in the United States." Includes urban

The Buckminster Fuller Institute is dedicated to accelerating the development and deployment of solutions which radically advance human well being and the health of our planet's ecosystems. We aim to deeply influence the ascendance of a new generation of design-science pioneers who are leading the creation of an abundant and restorative world economy that benefits all humanity.

BuildingGreen brings the best research, thinking, and writing to you through many publications, including Environmental Building News, the GreenSpec directory of green products, and the BuildingGreen Suite of online tools.

The Center for Maximum Potential Building Systems, established in 1975, is a non-profit education, research, and demonstration organization specializing in life cycle planning and design. We undertake projects based on their potential contribution to site, regional and global sustainability and human health, and actively pursue collaborations with associate organizations, businesses and professional firms.

CSS advances concepts of sustainability through interdisciplinary research and education. CSS collaborates with diverse stakeholders to develop and apply life cycle based models and sustainability metrics for systems that meet societal needs. CSS promotes tools and knowledge that support the design, evaluation, and improvement of complex systems.

EcoDensity is the product of over two years of creative thinking and challenging public debate on how density, design, and land use can contribute to environmental sustainability, affordability, and livability. EcoDensity is a Charter that commits the City of Vancouver and its citizens to address change more proactively and adapt our city and our way of life to meet the challenges we all face.

The Environment Directory contains thousands of sites. It is the largest exclusively environmental organization directory on the Web and includes sites from over 100 countries.

The Environmental Design Research Association advances and disseminates behavior and design research toward improving understanding of the relationships between people and their environments.

GSSD is a multi-dimensional knowledge networking system of public & private networks, based on an integrated framework and an evolving quality controlled, cross-referenced knowledge base. Designed in response to the increasing complexity of global realities, it supports knowledge management and meta-networking functions dedicated to improved decision-making and policy in the domain of “sustainable development” – at all levels and in all contexts. Powered by MIT.

From the United States Environmental Protection Agency, a guide to green landscaping, specifically with the use of native plants.

University of Washington's College of Forest Resources page featuring research on perceptions and behaviors regarding nature in cities.

The Open Architecture Network is an online, open source community dedicated to improving living conditions through innovative and sustainable design.

A sub-site of http://www.sustainable.org, this site explores issues concerning the growth of cities and urban sprawl.

Provided by the University of Minnesota, SULIS provides sustainable landscape information to the public and to the horticulture/landscape industry. By utilizing SULIS concepts, homeowners, business owners and related industry personnel will be able to create outdoor spaces that are functional, maintainable, environmentally sound, cost effective and aesthetically pleasing.

Links to resources collected by USGBC staff and members to facilitate green building research.

The United States Environmental Protection Agency's guide to sustainability programs based on region.