LibGuides: Decorative Arts: Textiles: Criticism, Interpretation, & Social Aspects

Criticism, Interpretation, & Social Aspects (arranged in descending order by publication date)

Metatextile: Identity and History of a Contemporary Art Medium by Tristan Weddigen (Editor)
Call Number: 746M5649
ISBN: 9783942810029
Publication Date: 2012-04-01
Architecture & Art

An English-, French-, and German-language collection of essays about contemporary textiles.
Textiles: the whole story : uses, meanings, significance by Beverly Gordon
Call Number: 746 G653t
ISBN: 9780500515662
Publication Date: 2011-11-07
Architecture & Art

A study of the social, practical, symbolic, and spiritual function of textiles. Includes bibliographical references and an index.
Dressing Up: cultural identity in Renaissance Europe by Ulinka Rublack
Call Number: 391.00940903 R82d
ISBN: 9780199298747
Publication Date: 2011-01-15
History, Philosophy & Newspaper Library

A study of the social significance of textiles and clothing in Renaissance Europe. Includes bibliographical references and an index.
Weaving, Veiling, and Dressing: textiles and their metaphors in the late Middle Ages by Kathryn M. Rudy (Editor); Barbara Baert (Editor)
Call Number: 746.0902 W379
ISBN: 9782503515274
Publication Date: 2007-08-17
Main Stacks

A history of the religious and social messages communicated by textiles during the Medieval period. Includes an index.
Cloth and Human Experience by Annette B. Weiner and Jane Schneider (eds.)
Call Number: 391 C624
ISBN: 0874749867
Publication Date: 1989-09-01
Social Sciences, Health, & Education Library

A discussion of the uses and meanings of fabrics in different societies and time periods. Includes an index.
Women’s work : the first 20,000 years : women, cloth, and society in early times by Elizabeth Wayland Barber
Call Number: 305.4309 B233w
Publication Date: 1994
Oak St. and Social Sciences, Health & Education Library

A study of women's work on textiles and its relation to their social roles. Includes bibliographical references and an index.