Classics

A detailed study of the making of ancient Roman armor. Includes bibliographical references.

Main Stacks

A catalog published in conjunction with an exhibition held at the Musée du quai Branly, Paris, Nov. 8, 2011- Jan. 29, 2012. Includes bibliographical references.

Oak St.; Online Resource--click above link

A study of arms and armors of warrior saints depicted in Byzantine art. Includes bibliographical references and indexes.

Oak St.

A catalog published in conjunction with an exhibition held at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York, Oct. 21, 2009-Jan. 10, 2010. Includes bibliographical references and an index.

Main Stacks

The catalog of an exhibition organized by the National Gallery of Art, Washington, the State Corporation for Spanish Cultural Action Aboard (SEACEX), and the Patrimonio Nacional. In Spanish and English. Includes bibliographical references.

Main Stacks

The substantial catalog of an exhibition held at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York, Apr. 5-July 2, 2006. Includes bibliographical references and an index.

Main Stacks

A hefty study of metalwork in arms and armor from the Middle Ages and Renaissance. Includes bibliographical references and an index.

Main Stacks

A guide to the arms and armor in the Cleveland Museum of Art's collection. Includes bibliographical references and an index.

Architecture & Art

A catalog of the Art Institute of Chicago's collection of arms and armor.

Main Stacks

A history of European arms and armor based on the Wallace collection at the British Museum.

"This book examines one of the eminent holdings of medieval and Renaissance armor and arms in the United States. Between the years 1982 and 1986, a distinguished group of five internationallly respected scholars of armor and arms conducted research on the collection under the National Endowment for the Arts Visiting Specialists Program. Studies in European Arms and Armor presents and disseminates the results of this research." "Each scholar chose one area within his field of expertise; to write about in detail: three survey cohesive groups of objects within the collection and three concentrate on individual objects of exceptional merit. Varied and original in approach, the essays collectively emphasize the consummate craftsmanship and stylistic development in such areas as goldsmith's work, engraving, embossing, and painting, all integral to the creation of fine arms and armor. The essays present current scholarship on aspects of the collection in a readable and lively style in a substantial contribution to the field."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved

Main Stacks

A brief introduction to Islamic weaponry, published by the Victoria & Albert Museum. Includes a bibliography.

Main Stacks

A catalog of arms and armor from the Tower of London. With a bibliography.

Oak St.

An encyclopedia on arms and armor from prehistoric times to the present, with over 1,250 illustrations. Includes a bibliography.

Main Stacks

Thirty-two plates preceded by leaves with descriptions and a few illustrations. It is supposed that these plates represent the output of a famous German armourer working in Elizabethan England.