Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Holocaust in Context: Literature and Film: Jewish Studies

Resources at the History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library

Jewish Studies

This is the History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library's page devoted to Jewish Studies. It includes links to databases and LibGuides related to the subject.

Jewish Life in America

Jewish Life in America will enable you to explore the history of Jewish communities in America from the arrival of the first Jews in the 17th century right through to the mid-20th century. This rich collection brings to life the communal and social aspects of Jewish identity and culture, whilst tracing Jewish involvement in the political life of American society as a whole.

Index to Jewish Periodicals

A comprehensive, annually published guide to articles, book reviews, feature stories, and other contents in English, appearing in more than 200 periodicals devoted to Jewish affairs. Most references are not found in the standard periodical literature guides available in many libraries.

Literature Collections

Internetarchiv jüdischer Kulturbundcovers over 100 Jewish periodicals in German, 1806-1938.

Bertolt Brechts Werke: Jubiläumsausgabe im WWW (UIUC - For assistance with this resource, see the Guide to Bertolt Brechts Werke)

Die Bibel, Martin Luther Translation (UIUC)

Bibliothek deutscher Klassiker (UIUC)

The Bibliothek deutscher Klassiker series has been in publication since 1981. It covers the works of major authors spanning eleven centuries and includes historical, philosophical, theological, political and art history texts. Collections of essays, speeches and other non-literary material add context and background material. As every individual text is edited to the same high standard, you can rely on the quality and accuracy of each edition and the collection as a whole.

Die deutsche Lyrik in Reclams Universal-Bibliothek (UIUC)

East Germany from Stalinization to the New Economic Policy, 1950-1963-- Originally microfilmed as Records of the U.S. Department of State Relating to the Internal Affairs of East Germany, this digital collection provides an in-depth look into the creation of the East German state, living conditions, and its people. Documents included in this collection are predominantly instructions to and despatches from U.S. diplomatic, and consular personnel regarding political, military, economic, social, industrial, and other internal conditions and events in East Germany.

Goethe Werke (UIUC - For assistance with this resource, see the Guide to Goethe Werke)

Kafkas Werke im WWW (UIUC)

Luthers Werke im WWW (UIUC - For assistance with this resource, see the Guide to Luthers Werke)

NietzscheSource (WWW)

Select Online Collections

Online German Literature Portals via WESSWeb


Europeana
Europeana is a single access point to millions of books, paintings, films, museum objects and archival records that have been digitised throughout Europe. It is an authoritative source of information coming from European cultural and scientific institutions.

Feedbooks (free public domain books)--Includes freely available German classics.

Google Books

Project Gutenberg (free public domain books) --Includes freely available German classics

Hathi Trust --A digital library collaboration for which the University of Illinois is a contributing partner.  Partner libraries share digitized content with other members of Hathi Trust and public domain content is open for everyone.

Internet Archive--A digital library of books and other media from US libraries

Many Books.net--Includes freely available German classics