Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Grants, Fellowships, and Scholarships: U of I Resources

Find funding support for your research or studies--A guide aimed at faculty, researchers, and students

Key Campus Resources - General

Office of the Vice Chancellor resources

The Office of the Vice Chancellor provides leadership and oversight for research at Illinois. This support includes providing funds, ensuring compliance with complex funder rules, submitting grants and negotiating research agreements, and more. Below are links to OVCR research support.

Key Campus Resources - Undergraduates

The Campus Center for Advising & Academic Services

This office developed as part of the University of Illinois’ strategic plan to strengthen the academic services of advising and mentoring, activities that are at the heart of of a student’s collegiate experience.


International Programs and Studies - Scholarships & Fellowships

A listing of fellowships that are specifically international in scope. Also, check the global and area studies centers websites for options.


National and International Scholarships Program

This office administers a variety of nationally competitive awards for University of Illinois students and alumni. Opportunities include undergraduate and graduate study, research, and teaching - often in foreign countries. Additional Scholarships and Fellowships that are nationally competitive are listed by this office, too; the office reviews applications for these awards on an ad hoc basis. 


Study Abroad Office - Scholarships Opportunities

This office provides information on scholarships available to University of Illinois undergraduates. Many study abroad scholarship applications are due more than one year before your term abroad, so it is important to begin your scholarship applications early.


Key Campus Resources - Graduate Students

Graduate College

The Graduate College provides a robust fellowships database, and there is also listings of assistantships, loans, and grants from the college.  This unit  provides proposal writing assistance.


Illinois Program for Research in the Humanities

IPRH promotes interdisciplinary study in the humanities, arts, and social sciences. The IPRH grants fellowships to U of Illinois faculty and graduate students.


International Programs and Studies - Scholarships & Fellowships

This unit provides a listing of fellowships that are specifically international in scope.  Also, check the global and area studies centers websites for options.


National and International Scholarships Program

This office administers a variety of nationally competitive awards for University of Illinois students and alumni. Opportunities include undergraduate and graduate study, research, and teaching - often in foreign countries. Additional Scholarships and Fellowships that are nationally competitive are listed by this office, too; the office reviews applications for these awards on an ad hoc basis. 


Key Campus Resources - Faculty

Center for Advanced Study - Faculty Associates & Fellows

Each year, the tenured and untenured University of Illinois faculty are invited to submit scholarly or creative proposals for consideration by the Center’s permanent Professors. Faculty members with winning proposals are appointed Associates and Fellows and awarded one semester of release time to pursue their projects in the coming academic year.


Illinois Program for Research in the Humanities

IPRH promotes interdisciplinary study in the humanities, arts, and social sciences. The IPRH grants fellowships to University of Illinois faculty and graduate students and provides some other forms of support as well.


International Programs and Studies - Scholarships & Fellowships

A listing of fellowships that are specifically international in scope. Also, check the global and area studies centers websites for options.


National and International Scholarships Program

This office administers a variety of nationally competitive awards for University of Illinois students and alumni. Opportunities include undergraduate and graduate study, research, and teaching - often in foreign countries. Additional Scholarships and Fellowships that are nationally competitive are listed by this office, too; the office reviews applications for these awards on an ad hoc basis. 


Office of The Vice Chancellor for Research 

This office leads, enables, and supports research initiatives, technology transfer, and economic development at Illinois. Funding support options include the Campus Research Board, as well as additional initiatives and support, which are also listed on the site.


Key Campus Resources - Principal Investigators

myResearch

myResearch provides investigators with web-based access to administrative data for their sponsored research. The myResearch pilot project began during Summer 2014.


Campus Resources - Administrators

For the University of Illinois campus

Office of Sponsored Programs and Research Administraton (OSPRA)

OSPRA interacts with faculty, students, department business staff, University administration, and external sponsor program officers and award negotiators to provide service and support to the University's missions of instruction, research, public service, and economic development. OSPRA is comprised of three divisions: Proposal, Award, and Subaward.

Post-Doctoral Scholars Resources

Postdoctoral Affairs Office

This office is a central resource for the postdoctoral community. Postdoctoral researchers are an important part of what makes Illinois a vibrant center for research.


Illinois Program for Research in the Humanities

IPRH promotes interdisciplinary study in the humanities, arts, and social sciences. Postdoctoral fellowships are available through this unit.

Scholarly Commons

Scholarly Commons's picture
Scholarly Commons
Contact:
306 Main Library
Drop-ins welcome
Monday-Friday 8:30am-6:00pm
Phone: 217-244-1331
Website