(Published 1917)

Tracking the evolution of the Red Army through the war against Japan and the Chinese civil war, Wortzel's book provides a comprehensive basic reference focusing on the major events, people, and issues that have produced the historical legacy of the People's Liberation Army. Placing contemporary Chinese military history in the context of China's 19th century clashes with the West and Japan, Wortzel illustrates how the imposition of unequal treaties by foreign powers conditioned China's 20th century defense forces and actions and explains how the Communist military forces developed. It also shows how fractionalization in the Communist military leadership led to the Cultural Revolution and Mao Zedong's purges. Drawing on a substantial number of sources available only in Chinese as well as on English-language secondary sources, the book provides a basic reference aimed at orienting the nonspecialist to the significant events and people in China's recent military history. The book will also provide a quick reference for the specialist in Chinese history.

Online version of the 6 volume original. Signed entries with bibliographies. Some bibliographies annotated. Includes a topical outline of entries.

Online version of the 4 volume original. 2nd ed. First edition was Encyclopedia of Marriage and the Family by David Levinson.

Bibliography of European-language works on China published before 1922. Supplemented by Index Sinicus: a catalogue of articles relating to China in periodicals and other collective publications, 1920-1955 and China in Western literature.

2 vols.

See also Women in China : a selected and annotated bibliography.

This is an annual publication of the International Society of Family law. Prior to 1995 this survey appeared in the Journal of Family Law under the title, "The Annual Survey of Family Law." The Journal of Family Law is available in the Law Library under the call number K10. 086 (1961-1992) and K25. n642 (1993-1997).

Also available through I-Share: The twentieth century, 1912-2000.

5 vols. Emphasizes the years 1911-1949.

1970

See also editions for 1967, 1972, 1973, 1976, 1977, 1979, 1981, and 1984.

Over 4,000 biographies of current Chinese leaders in government, politics, the military, education, business, and the media.

With more than thirty chronologies covering the nations of East, Southeast, South, and Central Asia, the Columbia Chronologies of Asian History and Culture contains more information on Asian history than any other English-language chronological reference work. Each entry is clearly dated and, unlike most chronologies found in standard history texts, the entries are complete and detailed enough to provide virtually a sequential history of the vast and rich span of Asian cultures.

1978-2002.