LibGuides: Curriculum & Instruction 402: Teaching Diverse Middle Grade Students: Social Studies: Curriculum Guides and Lesson Plans

Curriculum Guides and Lesson Plans

This page is designed to help you find lesson plans and activity ideas for your Conceptual Humanities Unit.

Guide To Finding Lesson Plans: Web

Did you know?

Call numbers for curriculum guides always begins with "CURR". The call number ranges for Social Studies books are:

History: CURR 973

Geography: CURR 910

Civics: CURR 320

Civil Rights: CURR 323

Social Science/Social Studies (elementary): CURR 300

Browsing the stacks in the middle of the Curriculum Room in the Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library in these ranges can help you find relevant curriculum guides.

Social Studies Lesson Plans

ERIC - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
The largest education database in the world, with over 1,000,000 citations on a variety of education topics. To find lesson plan ideas for middle school students try using the descriptors "middle school students" "intermediate grades" and "lesson plans." Trying different combinations of the descriptors "social studies" "multicultural education" "minority groups" and "ethnic diversity" may help you find social studies articles targeted at diverse classrooms.
Alternate Access Link

Print Resources:

There are a number of print curriculum guides available at SSHEL. You can locate these guides by searching in the catalog or browsing in the stacks. Most items published within the last ten years will be located in the Curriculum room in the Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library.

Online Resources:

Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
Education Full Text is a database that indexes and abstracts articles from English-language periodicals and yearbooks published in the United States and elsewhere. Try different combinations of the descriptors "lesson planning" "Humanities -- Study & teaching" "Social sciences -- Study & teaching" "junior high school students" "middle school students" and "diversity in education" to find ideas for lesson plans.
Alternate Access Link

Guide To Finding Lesson Plans: Web
This guide contains lists of free web resources on curriculum and lesson plans by subject.

Finding Ideas for Incorporating Technology

Library Catalog
Try searching the library catalog for books with the subject headings "Educational Technology" and "Instructional Design." The link above takes you to a catalog search using both terms. These subject headings refer to using technology in teaching and designing curriculum, so this search should exclude results on teaching students how to use technology and give you books that will give you ideas for incorporating technology into your lesson plans on a variety of subjects.

ERIC - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
The largest education database in the world, with over 1,000,000 citations on a variety of education topics. To find articles about using technology in the classroom try a descriptor search for "Educational Technology." To find articles about particular kinds of technology, like wikis or PowerPoint, combine the descriptor with a keyword search. For example DE="Educational Technology" AND KW=PowerPoint.
Alternate Access Link
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
Education Full Text is a database that indexes and abstracts articles from English-language periodicals and yearbooks published in the United States and elsewhere. The descriptor "educational technology" will help you find articles on incorporating technology into your teaching process.
Alternate Access Link