Both the published and unpublished hearings, which includes transcripts of spoken testimony, written statements of witnesses, reports, exhibits, correspondence, or other material submitted by interested parties. Hearings are held by Congressional committees as a way of collecting the information needed to inform decision making.

Hearings are held by Congressional committees as a way of collecting the information needed to inform decision making. In addition to transcripts of verbal testimony, hearings may contain written statements of witnesses, reports, exhibits, correspondence, or other material submitted by interested parties. In this collection, you can search full text, or by subject headings (e.g. "Radical Politics", "Students for a Democratic Society", "Public Demonstrations", "Communist Parties"

Search multiple sub-collections from a single interface: Early American Imprints, series I (1639-1800) and Series II (1801-1819), Afro-American Imprints, the U.S. Congressional Serial Set (1817-1980), and the American State Papers (1789-1838). Also includes America's Historical Newspapers and African American Periodicals. Search by keyword or subject term.

Colonial period to 1950. Letters from 1,325 women. Letters have been transcribed, rather than reproduced as digital facsimiles, and they are extensively indexed, as well as searchable by keyword. Biographical information is provided for each author, as well as synopses of many of the source documents, reprinted from Joyce Goodfriend’s 1987 bibliography, The Published Diaries and Letters of American Women. Based on six additional bibliographies: The Published Diaries and Letters of American Women by Joyce Goodfriend; American Diaries: An Annotated Bibliography of Published American Diaries and Journals by Laura Arksey, Nancy Pries, and Marcia Reed; Women's Diaries, Journals, and Letters by Cheryl Cline; American Diaries in Manuscript, 1580-1954; Canadian Diaries and Autobiographies by William Matthews; And So to Bed: A Bibliography of Diaries Published in English; and New England Diaries, 1602-1800: A Descriptive Catalogue of Diaries, Orderly Books and Sea Journals.

Diaries, letters, autobiographies, memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, alternative press periodicals, and scholarly commentary.

Books, brochures, audio recordings, cartoons, diaries, court reports, interviews, letters, speeches, videos, and more. Produced by historians Kathryn Kish Sklar and Thomas Dublin. It includes an online journal and more than 1,600 primary source documents and several hundred images. Also included are a dictionary of social movements and organizations, a chronology of U.S. women's history, and a series of subject-based teaching strategies. The database is searchable by movements, authors, sources, a controlled vocabulary of subject terms, and other parameters.

Compiled from the U.S. Decennial Census returns, and other published sources. Includes excellent, explanatory essays by expert demographers. Also includes a detailed subject index.