Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Finding and Using E-Books

Looking for an e-book? You're looking in the right place!

How to Find E-Audiobooks

You can also access e-audiobooks through the Library Catalog. There, use the advanced search option by selecting "Advanced Search" below the search bar.

You can browse the library's e-audiobooks in the catalog by performing a keyword search and selecting Electronic under "version" and sound recording under "format."

Advanced catalog search for e-audiobooks

 

How to Use the EBSCO Audiobooks App

The EBSCO Audiobooks app allows users to view and listen to titles they currently have checked out of the library collection. Users cannot browse the collection through the app, but can listen to checked out titles offline and listen to the same title on multiple devices. 

The EBSCO Audiobooks app can be downloaded for free through Google Play or iTunes. 

To access checked out audiobooks on the app, you must log into the app with an EBSCOhost account. To make an account:

  1. Open an EBSCO database (like Academic Search Complete or where you are searching for audiobooks).
  2. Click on the link to “Sign In” at the upper right hand corner.
  3. Click on the “Create a New Account” link and provide the information requested (your name, email address, choose a login name, password, and a security question), then click on “Submit.”

Titles checked out to your account should appear in the app and you can then download and listen to them. 

How to Search the EBSCOhost Audiobook Collection

In addition to searching for all audiobooks in the library catalog, you can search for audiobooks in just the EBSCO collection that can be used with the app.

To search the EBSCO Audiobook Collection:

  1. From the Library homepage in the middle of the light blue bar, go to "Databases and Journals" then click "Online Journals and Databases" in the middle of the drop down menu.
  2. In the search bar that comes up, type in "EBSCO Audiobook" and click on the ref "Go" button on the right side of the page.
  3. From the results, click on "Ebsco Audiobook Collection", which should be at the top.
  4. Click the red "Go" button on the page that comes up.

Once you are in the database, you can search for keywords, titles, authors, and subjects like you would in other databases.