LibGuides: Library Guide for Illinois State Archaeological Survey Staff: If You Are Off Campus

ACCESS ONLINE RESOURCES FROM OFF CAMPUS

When you are off campus, the tips below will help you access licensed online resources, access full text from a direct link, lookup full text from a DOI or a citation, and access our licensed full text resources from your citation manager and Google Scholar.

Set the Virtual Private Network (VPN) to "Tunnel All"
or turn it off and use Easy Search or DOI Lookup instead!
more...less...
If you experience problems even with the "Tunnel All" setting, turn off the VPN. Library lookup tools like Easy Search or the DOI Lookup will route you through the proxy server for access.

Full text lookup with Easy Search
Enter an article title or DOI, and follow the "Get PDF" or "Get Fulltext" links in matching results. This ensures recognition as a University of Illinois user for access to licensed online resources.
Add our "Library Link" to your Google Scholar account
Enter "University of Illinois" into the 'library links' search box, click the magnifying glass, and select "University of Illinois @ Urbana-Champaign-Discover Full Text". Google Scholar search results will include working full text links for resources licensed by the Library.

Add the Proxy Bookmarklet to your browser
Proxy prefix
If you already have a direct link to an eresource, append your URL to this proxy prefix.
Example:
http://www.library.illinois.edu/proxy/go.php?url=https://doi.org/10.1016/j.atmosenv.2017.12.023
For Zotero users: library lookup Add the UIUC link resolver to your Zotero Preferences and access Library-licensed full text from your Zotero Library. (NOTE: new resolver as of June 2020; update your settings!)
For EndNote users: find full text Instructions to configure EndNote to retrieve our licensed full text from your citations. Note that this functionality requires the VPN to be on!
For Mendeley users: library access Instructions for adding a link resolver to your Mendeley account. NOTE: new link resolver as of June 2020; please update your settings. Click more for the current UIUC Base URL.
more...less...
The "Base URL" to add is:
https://i-share-uiu.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/openurl/01CARLI_UIU/01CARLI_UIU:CARLI_UIU

* Institution Login - If the "Institution Login" link is present on a publisher website, look for Federation=US InCommon Federation, and Institution=University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, or search for our Institution by keyword, then log in with your Illinois NetID and password. Note that only select publishers offer Institution Login.

Book Delivery for Field Station Personnel

Use I-Share to have materials delivered to a library near your field station (suggestions below). Choose the pick-up library and location when requesting. You will need a valid iCard in order the check materials out.

I-Share locations near each station/office (Google Map routes are linked):

American Bottom Field Station, Wood River to SIU Edwardsville, Alton Circulation
5.4 mi., 12 min.
American Bottom Field Station, Wood River to Lewis and Clark Community College
10.8 mi., 21 min.
Western Illinois Field Station, Macomb to Western Illinois University, WIU Main Circulation
0.6 mi., 3 min.
Western Illinois Field Station, Jacksonville to Illinois College
3 mi., 9 min.
Springfield Research Office to Illinois State Library
2.2 mi., 8 min.
Springfield Research Office to University of Illinois Springfield
5 mi., 11 min.
I-Share Libraries Map
There are I-Share locations statewide, which field station staff or others living outside Champaign-Urbana may find more convenient than our campus locations. Use the map to find a location near you.