Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

GeoLytics: Census 2000

Learn how to navigate, analyze, and visualize U.S. Census data using GeoLytics web applications.

Why is Census 2000 data so important?

2000 Census data is used as a planning tool for myriad purposes, including political campaigning, media, retail development, and education. This is because the 2000 Census provides more demographic data than any other census conducted over the last century. In fact, the 2000 census was the most thorough study performed since the original census was taken in 1790. In addition to basic topics such as gender, age, and race, the variables involved in the 2000 census allow users to also look into mortgage status, ancestry, income, and a variety of other details for a particular area.

Provides complete Census 2000 long form data and calculating tools for access to area statistics and mapping.

Census 2000 Data from the U.S. Census Bureau

Forms, Tests, Inventories

Copies of the actual questionnaires, provided by the U.S. Census Bureau.

Lists the questions asked and instructions to enumerators for 1790-2000 Censuses. Includes images of census forms (some filled) over time.

 

Official Agency & Organization Websites

Provides access to the first results of the 2000 Census, including video clips, historical photographs, and school materials.

American Factfinder

The U.S. Census Bureau's premier vehicle on the web for Census 2000 data and mapping, freely available on the web. Includes population, housing, economic and geographic data from Census 2000, the 1990 Decennial Census, the 1997 and 2002 Economic Censuses, the American Community Survey, the Population Estimates Program, and the Annual Survey of Manufactures.

 

Guides

Special tabulations are not standard Census Bureau data products, but are generally sponsored by other public and private organizations and they are made fully or partially freely available to the public online. They include the Census Transportation Planning Package, the Comprehensive Housing Affordability Strategy, and the Special Equal Employment Opportunity (EEO) Tabulation.

 

Statistical Resources

  • Summary File 1 contains population and housing data including: sex, age, race, Hispanic or Latino origin, household relationship, and household and family characteristics. Housing items include occupancy status and tenure (whether the unit is owner- or renter-occupied).
  • Summary file 2 has population and housing data based on Census 2000 questions asked on the short form. Notably, tables are repeated for up to 249 race and Hispanic origin groups, provided there are 100 or more people in the group for a particular area.
  • Summary file 3 contains data for all states. Population tables cover subjects as ancestry, citizenship, educational attainment, grandparents as caregivers, income, language, veteran status, and more. The housing tables cover subjects as kitchen/plumbing facilities, number of rooms, telephone service, vehicle availability, utilities, insurance, mortgages, taxes, and fuel costs.

  • Summary file 4 includes marital status, disability, educational attainment, occupation, income, ancestry, veteran status, and many other characteristics. Particularly detailed is the occupation and industry data.

Summary of Social, Economic and Housing Characteristics. Details of demographics, income and housing for every state with complete data.

The fundamental reason for conducting the decennial census of the United States is to apportion the members of the House of Representatives among the 50 states. A state's resident population consists of those persons "usually resident" in that state (where they live and sleep most of the time). A state's apportionment population is the sum of its resident population and a count of overseas U.S. military and federal civilian employees (and their dependents living with them) allocated to the state, as reported by the employing federal agencies.

A profile includes four tables that provide various demographic, social, economic, and housing characteristics for the United States, states, counties, minor civil divisions in selected states, places, metropolitan areas, American Indian and Alaska Native areas, Hawaiian home lands and congressional districts (106th Congress).

Other Census 2000 Resources

A gateway to geographic and demographic data related to school districts, children, and K-12 education. Users may access data from the 2000 Census, the 1999 Census, intercensal school district demographic data, and maps of school districts. One particularly helpful feature is the Census 2000 School District Profiles. This application allows users to compare Census 2000 demographic information between any two United States School Districts.

Census data presented by the Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity of the State of Illinois.