LibGuides: History 498B: History of Travel: Periodicals

Core Databases

Some very useful article databases for history are:

Historical Abstracts
Journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on all aspects of world history, excluding North America, from 1450. Includes links to the full text of some articles. Complements America: History and Life. Indexes publications from 1954-present.
America: History and Life
The main article database for researching American history. Use to find journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on all periods of North American history. Includes some links to full text. Complements Historical Abstracts. Indexes publications from 1964-present.
L'Année Philologique
Covers Greek and Latin linguistics and literature and Greek and Roman archaeology, history, mythology, religion, epigraphy, numismatics and palaeography: all aspects of the ancient Mediterranean world. Indexes publications from 1928-present.
Brepolis Medieval and Early Modern Bibliographies
Identifies articles (over 4,000 journals covered) and books on the Medieval period in Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa. Indexes publications from 1958-present. Comprises three separate files: International Medieval Bibliography, the Bibliographie de Civilisation Médiévale = Bibliography of Medieval Civilisation (bibliographies published in the Cahiers de Civilisation Médiévale from 1958-2003), and Bibliographie internationale de l'Humanisme et de la Renaissance = International Bibliography of Humanism and the Renaissance.
more...less...
Formerly "International Medieval Bibliography".

Full Text Article Databases

There are also several major collections of full-text online journals. In these databases you can browse individual issues of journals, or you can do a search across the entire database. Many of these collections can be used to find both primary and secondary sources. For example, JSTOR contains journals such as the Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society of London, which began publication in 1665.

JSTOR
The full text of over 2,800 scholarly journals, with coverage back to the first issue for each, in some cases as far back as the 17th century. Recent issues of most journals in this database are embargoed by journal publishers, so to be certain you are also identifying the most recent publications, use an article index like Historical Abstracts or America: History, and Life.
Periodicals Archive Online
- This link opens in a new window
1665-present. Over 700 European and American periodicals in the humanities and social sciences.
Project MUSE
Over 600 scholarly journals, with emphasis on recent ten years of issues. Originally intended as a complement to JSTOR.
American Periodicals
- This link opens in a new window
1740-1940. Over 1,000 titles. Probably the single most important digital collection of early American periodicals. Includes the sub-collection American Periodicals from the Center for Research Libraries, which is particularly strong in trade and labor periodicals.
more...less...
Formerly called American Periodicals Series Online.
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995
About 170 periodicals published by, for, or about African Americans. Part of the Archive of Americana.
British Periodicals
- This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of influential British periodicals (literary, political, religious, and more) published between 1680 and 1940.
more...less...
Library has Modules I-IV. Module I was digitized from the microfilm collection Early British Periodicals; Module II was digitized from the microfilm collections English Literary Periodicals and British Periodicals in the Creative Arts. Module III comprises eight major periodicals of the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, as well as the Illustrated War News (November, 1939). Module IV continues the preceding module's emphasis on the twentieth century, with nine new titles: The Field (1853-2005), a monthly for hunters and outdoors enthusiasts; the Tribune (1937-2005), an unofficial weekly of the Labour Party; The Highway (1903-1959), a monthly devoted to improving the lives of working class readers; War Weekly (1939-1941); The Marvel (1893-1922), a weekly for boys with an emphasis on wholesome literature; Top Spot (1958-1960), a weekly for young men; and three general interest magazines: Answers to Correspondents (1888-1955); Wide World Magazine (1898-1965); and Humorist (1922-1940).
Eighteenth Century Journals
1685-1835. Over 270 newspapers and periodicals from across the British Empire, but mostly from Britain.
Nineteenth Century U.K. Periodicals
Periodicals published in Great Britain from 1800-1900. Many periodicals reproduced in full color. Series 1: New Readerships (emphasizing women, children, humour, leisure, and sport). Series 2: Empire (emphasizing travel, anthropology, economics, evangelism, colonialism). Part of Gale Primary Sources: Newspaper and Periodical Databases (formerly Gale NewsVault).
Travel and Tourist Periodicals: Selections from the British Library
1848-1913. 16 periodicals from the collections of the British Library. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

History 498B: History of Travel

Ask a Librarian

Core Databases

Other Article Databases

Full Text Article Databases