LibGuides: Biofuels Production & Agriculture: Biofuels Databases

Major Biofuels Databases

These databases may yield extensive results; narrow your search by using multiple search terms or defining the years in which you're interested.

Agricola This link opens in a new window
The bibliographic database of the National Agricultural Library. It is an excellent source of bibliographic records (and often abstracts) for research of agriculture & allied disciplines in the U. S. and internationally. A public version is available for those without UIUC access.

Agricultural Research Service
The in-house research arm of the USDA--provides information about current research projects
ASABE Technical Library
From the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers; good for very technical applied biofuels agriculture info. Abstracts only; publicly accessible.
Biofuel Ecophysiological Traits and Yield Database
The BETYdb has been developed by the Environmental Sciences Institute to support research, agriculture, and policy by synthesizing available information on potential biofuel crops. Simply create a free account for full access.

Biological Abstracts (BIOSIS) This link opens in a new window
Excellent for agricultural production aspects of biofuel. Covers 1926 to present.
CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive bibliographic datbase of agriculture publications worldwide. Covers agriculture, forestry, and allied disciplines in the life sciences, from 1973 to the present. Abstracts and bibliographic citations; many include full text.

CRIS
The USDA's Current Research Information System. It documents ongoing and recently completed research and education projects in agriculture, food and nutrition; and forestry. Publicly accessible.
Engineering Documents Center Collection
A depository for unpublished technical reports originating from UIUC. The database may be searched and documents can be obtained for a fee.

Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
The premier engineering database; excellent information on the industrial and technical processes of bioenergy production. Full text very often included; links to UIUC Full Text otherwise.
Food Science and Technology Abstracts This link opens in a new window
The largest food and science database currently available. Although primarily an abstracts database, most results include full-text.

National Agricultural Library
Access NAL publications and newsletters as well as a variety of agricultural databases.
ScienceDirect
A large database of science, technology, and medicine articles; usually includes full text.

Web of Science (Core Collection) This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles in science, social science, the arts and humanities; and the articles that cite them. Combination of full text and abstracts. Provides the most current index to over 8000 of the world's leading scholarly research journals in all disciplines. Updated weekly. Available from 1982-present. Includes a unique "cited reference" feature, to find articles that have cited a given article.

Email Me

Contact:

200 ACES Library, Information and Alumni Center
1101 S. Goodwin, MC-633
Urbana, IL 61801

Reference Desk: 217-244-2249

Subjects: Agriculture, Biology, City Planning, Environmental Science, Landscape Architecture, Natural History

For methods and resources to use in identifying journals in your field for publication or other purposes, see the Identifying Journals segment of this Introduction to Impact Factor guide.