VII. Reference Sources - History 470 - African American Studies 453: Plantation Society in the Americas - LibGuides at University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

1. Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Encyclopedia of the North American Colonies. by Jacob Ernest Cooke, editor-in-chief. 1993. 3 vols.
Call Number: Q.940.03 En19

Encyclopedias attempt to summarize the state of knowledge in a field of inquiry. A good encyclopedia can be a valuable starting point for your research.

Two online reference collections that students often find useful are: Oxford Reference Online, and Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Encyclopedia of Slave Resistance and Rebellion. by Junius P. rodriguez, editor. 2007. 2 vols.
Call Number: 306.36209703 En19
The Historical Encyclopedia of World Slavery. by Junius P. Rodriguez, editor. 1997. 2 vols.
Call Number: Q. 306.36203 H629
Dictionary of Afro-American Slavery by Randall M. Miller and John David Smith
Call Number: 305.56708996 D5611997
ISBN: 0275957993
Historical dictionary of the Old South by William L. Richter
Call Number: 975.0303 R418h
ISBN: 0810850745
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History by Joel Mokyr (Editor)
Call Number: 330 ONLINE
ISBN: 0195105079
Publication Date: 2003
Online version of the 5 volume original. Signed articles with bibliographies. Bibliographies not annotated.
Tobacco in History and Culture: An Encyclopedia by Jordan Goodman
Call Number: 394.14 ONLINE
ISBN: 0684314053
Publication Date: 2004
Online version of the 2 volume original.
The Encyclopedia of the New American Nation: The Emergence of the United States, 1754-1829 by Paul Finkelman (Editor)
Call Number: 973.3 ONLINE
ISBN: 0684313464
Publication Date: 2005
Online version of the 3 volume original.
Macmillan Encyclopedia of World Slavery by Paul Finkelman (Editor); Joseph C. Miller (Editor)
Call Number: Q. 306.36203 M228
ISBN: 002864607X
Publication Date: 1998

2. Bibliographies and Indexes

Black Slavery in the Americas : An Interdisciplinary Bibliography, 1865-1980. by John David Smith, comp. 1982. 2 vols.
Call Number: 016.306362 Sm61b
See especially "Autobiographical Writings," pp. 1397-1414.
Slavery and slaving in world history : a bibliography by Joseph C. Miller
Call Number: Q. 016.306362 M615s
ISBN: 0765602814
Irish University Press series of British Parliamentary Papers. General Index. 8 vols.
Call Number: Q.015.42 Ir4
Vol. 1: Hansard's Catalogue of Parliamentary Papers, 1696-1832.
Vol. 2: General Index to the Reports of Select Committees, 1801-1852.
Vol. 3: General Index to Accounts and Papers, 1801-1852.
Subject catalogue of the House of Commons Parliamentary Papers, 1801-1900. by Peter Cockton, comp. 1988. 5 vols.
Call Number: 016.941 C647s
Vol. 5: The Dominions and Colonies, Slavery and the Slave Trade
Catalogue of Parliamentary Papers, 1801-1900. 3 vols.
Call Number: 015.42 K58c 1972
Indian slavery, labor, evangelization, and captivity in the Americas : an annotated bibliography by Russell M. Magnaghi
Call Number: 016.305897 M273i
ISBN: 0810833557
Index to the American Slave.
Call Number: 326.92 Am35 index
Indexes the 19 volume set, The American slave : a composite autobiography, and supplements 1 (12 vols) and 2 (10 vols).
World bibliographical series
Includes titles on Bermuda, French Guiana, Jamaica, St. Lucia, Antigua and Barbuda, Martinique, St. Kitts-Nevis, Belize, Netherlands Antilles and Aruba, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Montserrat, Virgin Islands, Dominica, Haiti, Guatemala, and more.
Brazilian Slavery: An Annotated Research Bibliography by Robert Conrad
Call Number: 016.301441 C76B
ISBN: 0816178550
Publication Date: 1977
Includes primary source accounts.

3. Statistics

Historical census statistics on population totals by race, 1790 to 1990, and by Hispanic origin, 1790 to 1990, for the United States, regions, divisions, and states by Campbell Gibson and Kay Jung
Call Number: ONLINEDOC. C 3.223/27:56
Free African Americans of North Carolina, Virginia, and South Carolina from the colonial period to about 1820 by Paul Heinegg
Call Number: 929.308996 H364f2001
ISBN: 0806351101

Historical Statistics of the United States, Earliest Times to the Present
Compiled from the U.S. Decennial Census returns, and other published sources. Includes excellent, explanatory essays by expert demographers. Also includes a detailed subject index.

Black Demographic Data, 1790-1860 by Clayton E. Cramer
Call Number: 973.0496073 C848B
ISBN: 031330243X
Publication Date: 1997
International Historical Statistics: The Americas, 1750-2000 by Brian Mitchell
Call Number: Q. 310 M692in2003
ISBN: 0333994108
Publication Date: 2003
Historical Statistics of Black America by Jessie Carney Smith and Carrell Peterson Horton
Call Number: Q. 973.0496073 H6293
ISBN: 0810385422
Publication Date: 1995
2 vols.
The African-American Experience on File by C. Carter Smith, Jr
Call Number: Q. 973.0496073 Af8333
ISBN: 0816036977
1998.

4. Guides and Handbooks

A Historical Guide to World Slavery by Seymour Drescher and Stanley L. Engerman
Call Number: 306.36203 H6292
ISBN: 0195120914
Publication Date: 1998
A Guide to Sources for the History of the Danish West Indies (U.S. Virgin Islands), 1671-1917 by Erik Gøbel
Call Number: 972.9722 G535g
ISBN: 8778387213
Publication Date: 2002
A Guide to Source Materials for the Study of Barbados History, 1627-1834 by Jerome S. Handler
Call Number: 016.972981 H18G
ISBN: 0809304368
Publication Date: 1971
See also the Supplement.
Slavery in America : a reader and guide by Kenneth Morgan
Call Number: 973.7112 Sl16
ISBN: 0820327921
The Longman companion to slavery, emancipation and civil rights by Harry Harmer
Call Number: 305.567 H228l
ISBN: 0582404371
The Harvard Guide to African-American History by Evelyn Brooks Higginbotham (Editor)
Call Number: 973.0496073 H261
ISBN: 0674002768
Publication Date: 2001
The American Historical Association's Guide to Historical Literature by Mary Beth Norton (General Editor)
Call Number: 016.9 G9411995
ISBN: 0195057279
Publication Date: 1995
2 vols. Online resource. Also available in print through our catalog. A little old, but still highly regarded, and useful as a starting point into just about any historical topic. An excellent introduction to historiographical themes and seminal works.

5. Timelines

Pan-African chronology : a comprehensive reference to the Black quest for freedom in Africa, the Americas, Europe, and Asia by Everett Jenkins, Jr.
Call Number: 909.0496 J415P
ISBN: 0786401397
Chronology of world slavery by Junius P. Rodriguez
Call Number: Q. 306.36209 R618c
ISBN: 0874368847
Chronology of African American history : from 1492 to the present by Alton Hornsby, Jr.
Call Number: 973.0496073 H784C 1997
ISBN: 0787604925