LibGuides: History 495A: Incredible India?: Other Source Collections

Image Collections

Saskia Art Images This link opens in a new window
Multiple image collections of paintings, drawings, sculptures, buildings, and photographs.

Duke University Libraries Digital Collections
Includes the Advertising and Consumer Culture collections.

No list of image collections can hope to be comprehensive. Below are some big collections we think you'll find especially useful, but consider trying some of the important catalogs to digital resources on the Web:

The Library has produced several collections of digital images--these collections include historical maps, German emblem books, French World War I posters, and Irish cartoons. These collections are available at http://images.library.uiuc.edu/projects/

Empire Online This link opens in a new window
15th century to the present. Emphasis on the British Empire. Collection tilts heavily toward the 18th century, 19th century, and early 20th centuries.

Digital South Asia Library
Images and maps, as well as reference sources, newspapers, scholarly monographs, statistics, and more.

Artstor This link opens in a new window
Digital library of images from a wide range of cultures and time periods. You can narrow search by time period (e.g. 1750-1900), place (e.g. France), and keywords (e.g. man, men, homme). It includes images from the Musuem of Modern Art, the Native American Art and Culture Collection at the Smithsonian, the Schlesinger History of Women in America Collection, and the Huntington Archive of Asian Art.

New York Public Library Digital Gallery
Digital collection of over 600,000 images from the collections of the New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, prints, photographs and more.

Shelf Browsing

Your search for sources will most likely involve identifying several possible call number ranges related to your topic and going to the shelves in the bookstacks to browse for books or periodicals with images you can use. For example, books with the subject heading India--Description and travel are classified in 915.40453, and you can browse the books on the shelves to look for Indian travel narratives.