Formerly called Periodicals Contents Index or PCI.

Originally created by the Chicano Studies Library at the University of California at Berkeley as five separate indexes: Chicano Periodical Index; Chicano Index; Arte Chicano; Chicano Anthology Index; and Chicana Studies Index. The five separate indexes were eventually combined to form a single index, the Chicano Database. The database was later purchased by EBSCO.

Formerly titled PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) International with Archive.

Formerly called American Periodicals Series Online.

Our collection includes access to Series 1 and Series 2.

Library has Modules I-IV. Module I was digitized from the microfilm collection Early British Periodicals; Module II was digitized from the microfilm collections English Literary Periodicals and British Periodicals in the Creative Arts. Module III comprises eight major periodicals of the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, as well as the Illustrated War News (November, 1939). Module IV continues the preceding module's emphasis on the twentieth century, with nine new titles: The Field (1853-2005), a monthly for hunters and outdoors enthusiasts; the Tribune (1937-2005), an unofficial weekly of the Labour Party;  The Highway (1903-1959), a monthly devoted to improving the lives of working class readers; War Weekly (1939-1941); The Marvel (1893-1922), a weekly for boys with an emphasis on wholesome literature; Top Spot (1958-1960), a weekly for young men; and three general interest magazines: Answers to Correspondents (1888-1955); Wide World Magazine (1898-1965); and Humorist (1922-1940).

Together with the introduction of rural mail delivery, the telephone, and the automobile, farm newspapers played a key role in the modernization of rural America. The Farm, Field and Fireside collection contains historically significant U.S. farm weeklies published in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.