LibGuides: Library Guide for Illinois State Water Survey Staff: Find literature on a topic

Easy Search

Easy Search
Not sure where to start? Search multiple general resources simultaneously using the University Library's Easy Search tool.
Customize your EasySearch
Select target databases and catalogs.

Tips

Automated search alerts
Most journals and databases offer search alerts (both by RSS and by email). You can follow a specific journal or receive alerts of articles on a topic regardless of journal.

Recommended literature databases for Illinois State Water Survey researchers

The databases below are recommended for topics relevant to ISWS researchers. Engineering Village, Google Scholar, Scopus, and Web of Science are multidisciplinary, and cover a wide range of publishers and types of resources, and all are highly recommended for most ISWS topics. More specialized databases are also listed. For more database options, see the A-Z list of database for agriculture, engineering, environmental science, and geology. You can filter these list by the type of content or vendor, or search for a specific database by name.

ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts This link opens in a new window This database provides extensive coverage of research on aquatic organisms for scientists researching the world's living aquatic resources. Marine, freshwater and brackish water organisms and environments are examined, including biology and ecology of aquatic organisms, and legal, policy and socioeconomic issues. ProQuest Deep Indexing: Aquatic Sciences supplements ASFA with access to over a million indexed charts, figures, graphs, maps, photographs, and tables from the scholarly research and technical literature. Coverage: 1971 - current
CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window CAB Abstracts is a bibliographic database covering research and development literature in the fields of agriculture, forestry, aspects of human health, human nutrition, animal health, and the management and conservation of natural resources from 1910 to date. Also available on the CABI Digital Library platform.
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window Provides access to bibliographic databases of engineering research literature as well as to patents, standards and handbooks (Compendex, US Patents, Inspec, EP Patents, NTIS, WO Patents, GEOBASE, and GeoRef).
Scopus This link opens in a new window Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications and quality web sources. Subject coverage includes: Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering; Life and Health Sciences; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences.
SciFinder This link opens in a new window First register here using your @illinois.edu email address before visiting the url above to access SciFinder. SciFinder® is a research discovery application that provides integrated access to the world's most comprehensive and authoritative source of references, substances and reactions in chemistry and related sciences.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science (All Databases Search) This link opens in a new window Easily search across all subscribed Web of Science databases simultaneously using a common set of search fields for the most comprehensive results. Web of Science indexes core journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Web of Science (Core Collection) This link opens in a new window Web of Science indexes core journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.

Also see

American Meteorological Society Journals
American Meteorological Society Conference Papers Search Find abstracts, recordings, etc., from conferences and workshops of the AMS.
Science.gov Simultaneously searches U.S. federal government repositories, including NASA, DOE, EPA, USDA, USFS, USGS, and many others. An excellent resource for grey literature.
Google Scholar Excellent resource for setting up alerts of new literature.