LibGuides: Agricultural Accounting: Ag Accounting Research Resources

Government Info

AgNic (Agriculture Network Information Center)
A voluntary alliance and partnership of nearly 60 member institutions and organizations working to offer quick and reliable access to quality agricultural information and sources. AgNIC is supported, in part, by the USDA’s National Agricultural Library.
Census of Agriculture (USDA)
The Census of Agriculture, taken every five years, is a complete count of U.S. farms and ranches and the people who operate them. The Census looks at land use and ownership, operator characteristics, production practices, income and expenditures and more.
Commodities Futures Trading Commission
The CFTC's mission is to protect market users and the public from fraud, manipulation, and abusive practices related to the sale of commodity and financial futures and options, and to foster open, competitive, and financially sound futures.
Economic Reports of the President
An annual report written by the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisors. It overviews the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices.
Economic Research Service (USDA)
The economics of food, farming, natural resources, and rural America.
USDA Newsroom
Each Briefing Room offers an in-depth discussion synthesizing Economic Research Service research and the economic issues that frame the analysis.
Foreign Agricultural Service (USDA)
The FAS of the USDA works to improve foreign market access for U.S. products, build new markets, improve the competitive position of U.S. agriculture in the global marketplace, and provide food aid and technical assistance to foreign countries.
Illinois Agricultural Statistics Service
Agricultural statistics available by state and county. USDA's National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS) Illinois Field Office is operated in cooperation with the The Bureau of agricultural statistics, Illinois Department of Agriculture.
Illinois Department of Agriculture
News and information about agriculture in the state of Illinois.
Index to USDA Agricultural Economic Reports
National Agricultural Library
Access NAL publications and newsletters as well as a variety of agricultural databases.
National Agricultural Statistics Service (USDA)
The National Agricultural Statistics Service provides timely, accurate, and useful statistics in service to U.S. agriculture.
USDA Economics, Statistics, and Market Information System
The system contains nearly 2500 reports and datasets. These materials cover U.S. and international agriculture and related topics.

Databases

Databases are large, regularly updated files of articles from journals, magazines, and trade publications related to a specific subject or field. The databases listed below are related to agriculture, economics, and business.

Some database coverage overlaps (i.e., some databases collect the same articles from the same journals), but you will find different results by searching in different databases. When you're aiming to be comprehensive in your research, it's a good idea to search more than one database.

Agricola This link opens in a new window
The bibliographic database of the National Agricultural Library. It is an excellent source for research of Agriculture & allied disciplines in the U. S.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Provides current full-text articles from over 400 business journals, newspapers and wire services concerning both private and public companies, issues and events.
CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive bibliographic database of Ag publications worldwide. Areas of interest significant to Ag Engineering, identified in CAB include: Biotechnology, Environment & allied disciplines, and Crop protection.
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) This link opens in a new window
Perhaps the best source for information about international affairs theory and research.
ProQuest Congressional Publications This link opens in a new window
Provides an extensive access to U.S. legislative information from Congressional Information Service, Inc.
EconLit with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Includes subject indexing and abstracts of 685 journals and over 500 collective volumes per year, plus books, dissertations, and working papers in the field of economics.
Alternate Access Link
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Access information in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Major areas of coverage include: community development, culture and social structure, evaluation research, management and complex organizations
ProQuest Statistical Insight (Statistical Universe) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive access to statistical information from Congressional Information Service, Inc.

USDA/CRIS (Current Research Information System)
The USDA's Current Research Information System. It documents ongoing and recently completed research in agriculture, food, and nutrition.

Web of Science (Core Collection) This link opens in a new window
Provides the most current index to over 8000 of the world's leading scholarly research journals in all disciplines; includes abstracts. Avail: 1982 - present. Includes a unique "cited reference" feature, to find articles that have cited a given article.

Subject Guide

Funk ACES Library

Email Me

Contact:

200 ACES Library, Information and Alumni Center
1101 S. Goodwin, MC-633
Urbana, IL 61801

Reference Desk: 217-244-2249

Subjects: Agriculture, Biology, City Planning, Environmental Science, Landscape Architecture, Natural History

FInding Major Journals

For methods and resources to use in identifying journals in your field for publication or other purposes, see the Identifying Journals segment of this Introduction to Impact Factor guide.