Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Latin American & Caribbean: Research Guide: University of Chicago

Description

The Center for Latin American and Caribbean Studies at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign works in a consortium with the Center for Latin American Studies at the University of Chicago. This page is meant to facilitate access to UChicago's Library collections, especially those that support Latin American and Caribbean Studies.

The University of Chicago Library supports faculty and students in all subjects studying Latin America and the Caribbean, working closely with the Center for Latin American Studies.

UChicago has notable strengths on the colonial era, a large collection on Mexico, and strong documentary collections on US foreign relations with Central America. UChicago holds some of the world’s richest ethnographic and linguistic resources on the diverse indigenous cultures and languages of Mesoamerica. In addition, the Special Collection Research Center holds several unique collections of manuscripts, notes, and correspondence from past UChicago social scientists whose research has shaped the field of Latin American Studies, including the papers of renowned anthropologists Manning Nash, Robert Redfield, and Sol Tax.

Other specialized collections include a Latin American music collection, representing a broad range of Latin America’s leading 20th-century composers with over 320 scores and 250 recordings not commercially available, and an archive of Brazilian television and cinema jointly managed with the University of Chicago Language Center and the Film Studies Center, housing more than 300 movies and television series. For more information contact Sarah G. Wenzel, Bibliographer for Literatures of Europe & the Americas.