LibGuides: Marketing Research: Demographic Information/Statistics

eMarketer

eMarketer
Contains research articles, reports and statistics on the global digital marketing, social media, e-commerce and emerging technologies. The database publishes over 200 reports each year, covering most important topics of the digital environment. Users can search for over 50,000 charts and data sets gathered and analyzed from about 4,000 sources including IT research firms, academic institutions, company reports, trade associations and others.
more...less...
University users cannot get personal account for the mobile app.
Mozilla Firefox, Safari, or Chrome are the preferred browsers.

Household Spending: Who Spends How Much on What

Household Spending by New Strategist Publications
Call Number: 339.47 H8162011
ISBN: 9781935775393
Publication Date: 2011-12-15
Communications Reference (non-circulating)

Older editions available from Oak Street by request:
Q. 339.47 H816

The data in Household Spending reveals how American households allocate their spending dollars. It contains a summary of household spending statistics, spending statistics organized by major product, service category, including all typical household expenditures.

Passport

To locate statistics, look under Search (in the upper left corner of the Home/Welcome page). You can generate tables of statistics on Consumer, Industrial, and Service Markets by clicking on the appropriate link. The next step requires you to select among several countries. You can also use the toolbar at the top of the page to explore by Industries, Countries, and Consumers. If you need a table about Food Shopping Habits in Croatia, this is the resource for you.

For example, to search for industry statistics, go to 'Search Statistics' section; select 'industries'; choose a industry you are interested in; click go .

For database help, click here.

Proquest Statistical Insight

ProQuest Statistical Insight (Statistical Universe) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides references to statistical publications issued by federal and state governments, commercial publishers, trade and professional organizations, etc. A good place to start if you need statistical information but don't know where to look.

Click HERE to get one of the database's quick tutorials. NOTE: you must logged in on campus or via proxy server to see the guide.

To get industry statistics, click on Index Terms under the search bar; select "industry and commerce"; click on Paste to search and then search.

SimplyAnalytics

SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window

SimplyAnalytics provides data for all geographies include census block-groups, census tracts, ZIP codes, cities, counties, states, and the entire United States. (this is for power users only, not for beginning researchers)

Demographic Variables: Population, Age, Race, Income, Ancestry, Marital Status, Housing, Employment, Transportation, Families, and more.
Historical census data: including 1980, 1990 & 2000, plus current year census estimates and 5 year projections.
Business Variables: Detailed Consumer Expenditure, Business & Employee Counts by Industry (by NAICS Code), Consumer Price Index, Quality of Life & Consumer Profiles, and Market Segments.

Create an account or login as a guest. Please note that only five users may use this resource at any given time.

Please make an appointment with BIS team for information about how this database works.

SimplyMap 2.0 Quick Reference Guide

U.S. Census Bureau

U.S. Census Bureau

The ultimate place to find comprehensive and detailed demographic information on the United States. Now includes Census 2010 data. Pay attention to the browsable index "Subjects A to Z" and the categories on the home page. American FactFinder offers detailed demographic information on state, county, and city levels.

Statista

Statista

Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.