LibGuides: No Child Left Behind: Background Information

Background Information

The Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA), as revised and passed by President George W. Bush in 2001, is commonly known as the No Child Left Behind Act (also as NCLB or the NCLB Act). Recently, NCLB has been reauthorized as the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA), signed into law in December 2015 by President Barack Obama. Use the following sources to learn more about the No Child Left Behind Act and ESSA and the political, legal, and social issues surrounding both.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Gives overviews of major topic areas (including education). Includes articles, lists of other resources, and Pro and Con arguments for most topics.

Encyclopedia of Education
A great resource on education that provides general information on No Child Left Behind.
Psychology of Classroom Learning: An Encyclopedia
Insight into the psychology behind testing and learning. Especially relevant are entries on "High Stakes Testing" and "Special Education."
West's Encyclopedia of American Law
Provides accessible entries on policy issues surrounding No Child Left Behind, especially the entry on "Education Department."
Gale Encyclopedia of American Law
Covers today's leading cases, major statutes, legal terms and concepts, notable persons involved with the law, and important documents.
Encyclopedia of Education Law
Entries on policies and statues pertaining to education, including the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001.