Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Genealogy Resources

A guide to finding genealogical materials at the University of Illinois Library.

Saint Clair County

Where to Start

For the most up to date resources, please use the University's Online Catalog. The dewey call number for St. Clair County typically starts with "977.389". Some common subject headings for St. Clair County are:

Saint Clair County (Ill.) --Biography.
Saint Clair County (Ill.) --Genealogy.
Saint Clair County (Ill.) --History.
Saint Clair County (Ill.) --Maps.

If you have questions about using the online catalog or subject headings, please see Using the Library. We've provided a few areas below to start you off.

County Histories

History of St. Clair County, Illinois / [issued] by St. Clair County Genealogical Society. Dallas, Tex. : Curtis Media Corp. ; [Illinois] : The Society, c1988-
Call Number: Q. 977.389 H629

Portrait and biographical record of St. Clair County, Illinois : containing biographical sketches of prominent and representative citizens together with biographies and portraits of all the presidents of the United States. Chicago : Chapman Bros., 1892.
Call Number: 977.389 P83

West, Edward William. 1876. History of St. Clair County, Illinois; prepared for the county centennial celebration of American independence, July 4th, 1876. Belleville, Ill. : Advocate Steam Print, 1876.
Call Number: 977.389 W52H1970

History of St. Clair County, Illinois : with illustrations descriptive of its scenery and biographical sketches of some of its prominent men and pioneers. Evansville, Ind. : Unigraphic, 1975.
Call Number: Q. 977.389 H62h1975

Atlases

An illustrated historical atlas of St. Clair Co. Illinois / compiled drawn & published from personal examinations & surveys by Warner & Beers. Evansville, Ind. : Whippoorwill Publications, 1984.
Call Number: Q. 912.77389 W24I1984

W.W. Hixson & Co. PLAT BOOK OF ST. CLAIR COUNTY, ILLINOIS. ROCKFORD, 1930.
Call Number: 912.77389 H64P

Hollman, Frank, 1904- Current & historical atlas, St. Clair County, Illinois. Complete geographical, topographical, statistical, informative and educational. Compiled and published by Frank and John Hollman. Belleville, Ill., 1936.
Call Number: F. 912.77389 H72C

St. Clair Title Company. An atlas of St. Clair County, Illinois. Belleville, Ill., c1956.
Call Number: F. 912.77389 SA2A

Saline County

Where to Start

For the most up to date resources, please use the University's Online Catalog. The dewey call number for Saline County typically starts with "977.39". Some common subject headings for Saline County are:

Saline County (Ill.) --History.
Saline County (Ill.) --Maps.

If you have questions about using the online catalog or subject headings, please see Using the Library. We've provided a few areas below to start you off.

County Histories

History of Gallatin, Saline, Hamilton, Franklin and Williamson counties, Illinois, from the earliest time to the present : together with ... biographical sketches, notes, reminiscences, etc. Chicago : Goodspeed Pub. Co., [1967, c1887]
Call Number: 977.39 H62

Saline County Historical Society (Saline County, Ill) Saline County : a century of history, 1847-1947 / presented by the Saline County Historical Society as the Centennial book. [Harrisburg, Ill. : Register publishing, 1947]
Call Number: 977.3992 SA33S

Winnetka Public Library. Genealogy Projects Committee AN INDEX TO THE NAMES OF PERSONS APPEARING IN THE HISTORY OF GALLATIN, SALINE, HAMILTON, FRANKLIN AND WILLIAMSON COUNTIES, ILLINOIS. THOMSON, 1973.
Call Number: 977.39 H621973INDEX

Atlases

W.W. Hixson & Co. PLAT BOOK OF SALINE COUNTY, ILLINOIS. ROCKFORD, 1930.
Call Number: 912.773992 H64P

Geo. A. Ogle & Co. Standard atlas of Saline County, Illinois, including a plat book of the villages, cities and townships of the county. Map of the state, United States and world. Patrons directory, reference business directory ... Compiled and published by Geo. A. Ogle & Co. ... Chicago : Geo. A. Ogle & Co., 1908.
Call Number: F. 912.773992 OG5S

Rockford Map Publishers. Atlas & plat book, Saline County, Illinois. Rockford, Ill. : Rockford Map Publishers, [197- - 197-]
Call Number: Q. 912.773992 R59t

Rockford Map Publishers. Land atlas & plat book ... Saline County, Illinois / Rockford Map Publishers. Rockford, Ill. : Rockford Map Publishers ; Harrisburg, Ill. : Distributed by Saline County Farm Bureau, 1978-
Call Number: Q. 912.773992 R59t1

Sangamon County

Where to Start

For the most up to date resources, please use the University's Online Catalog. The dewey call number for Sangamon County typically starts with "977.356". Some common subject headings for Sangamon County are:

Sangamon County (Ill.) --History.
Sangamon County (Ill.) --Biography.
Sangamon County (Ill.) --Maps.

If you have questions about using the online catalog or subject headings, please see Using the Library. We've provided a few areas below to start you off.

County Histories

Bateman, Newton, 1822-1897. Historical encyclopedia of Illinois, ed. by Newton Bateman, LL. D., Paul Selby, A. M., and history of Sangamon County, by special authors and contributors, Paul Selby, ed. … Chicago, Munsell Pub. Co., 1912.
Call Number: 977.356 B31H

Campbell, Bruce Alexander. 200 years : an illustrated Bicentennial history of Sangamon County / by Bruce Alexander Campbell. Springfield, Ill. : Phillips Brothers, c1976.
Call Number: 977.356 C15T

History of Sangamon County, Illinois : together with sketches of its cities, villages and townships ... portraits of prominent persons, and biographies of representative citizens ; History of Illinois … H̲i̲story and biography, the heritage collection from Unigraphic Evansville, Ind. : Unigraphic, 1977.
Call Number: 977.356 H621977

PORTRAIT AND BIOGRAPHICAL ALBUM OF SANGAMON COUNTY, ILLINOIS, CONTAINING SKETCHES OF PROMINENT CITIZENS CHICAGO, 1891.
Call Number: 977.356 P83

Power, John Carroll, 1819-1894. History of the early settlers of Sangamon County, Illinois : "centennial record" / by John Carroll Power, assisted by his wife Mrs. S.A. Power. Springfield, Ill. : Edwin A. Wilson & Co., 1876.
Call Number: 977.356 P87H

Atlases

Brink, McCormick & Co., publishers. Illustrated atlas map of Sangamon County, Ill. … [n.p.] : Brink, McCormick & Co., 1874.
Call Number: F. F. 912.77356 B77I

Derr Map Studio. Plat book, Sangamon County, Illinois. Rockford, Ill. : Derr Map Studio ; [Springfield] : distributed by Sangamon County Farm Bureau, c1955.
Call Number: 912.77356 D44P

Rockford Map Publishers. Land atlas & plat book, Sangamon County, Illinois / Rockford Map Publishers. Rockford, Ill. : Rockford Map Publishers, 1977-
Call Number: Q. 912.77356 R59T1

Sangamon County Abstract Company, Springfield, Ill. Plat book of Sangamon County, Illinois. Showing all cities, villages and towns, acreage and ownership of all lands not platted ... Compiled directly from the records and published by The Sangamon County Abstract Company, Springfield, Illinois ... Chicago, Ill. : Printed by George F. Cram, 1914.
Call Number: F. 912.77356 SA5P

Schuyler County

Where to Start

For the most up to date resources, please use the University's Online Catalog. The dewey call number for Schuyler County typically starts with "977.347". Some common subject headings for Schuyler County are:

Schuyler County (Ill.) --Genealogy --Indexes.
Schuyler County (Ill.) --Biography.
Schuyler County (Ill.) --Maps.

If you have questions about using the online catalog or subject headings, please see Using the Library. We've provided a few areas below to start you off.

County Histories

Historical encyclopedia of Illinois / edited by Newton Bateman, Paul Selby. And History of Schuyler County / edited by Howard F. Dyson. Genealogy & local history ; LH6212. Chicago : Munsell Pub. Co., 1908.
Call Number: 977.347 B31H

Biographical review of Cass, Schuyler and Brown Counties, Illinois: Containing biographical sketches of pioneers and leading citizens. Chicago : Biographical Review Publishing Co., 1892.
Call Number: 977.347 B52

W.R. Brink & Co. Combined history of Schuyler and Brown Counties, Illinois : with illustrations descriptive of their scenery, and biographical sketches of some of their prominent men and pioneers. Philadelphia : W. R. Brink & Co., 1882.
Call Number: 977.347 B77C1973

Atlases

Atlas map of Schuyler County, Illinois [cartographic material] / compiled, drawn, and published from personal examinations and surveys. Davenport, Iowa : Andreas, Lyter & Co., 1872.
Call Number: F. 912.77347 AN2A

W.W. Hixson & Co. PLAT BOOK OF SCHUYLER COUNTY, ILLINOIS. ROCKFORD, 1926.
Call Number: 912.77347 H64P

Geo. A. Ogle & Co., comp. Plat book of Schuyler County, Illinois. Compiled and published by Geo. A. Ogle & Co. ... Eng. by Balliet & Volk .. Chicago : Published by Geo. A. Ogle & Co., 1892.
Call Number: F. 912.77347 OG5P

Lickey, Vernon. Plat book of Schuyler County, Illinois, 1892, index : compiled & published by Geo. A. Ogle & Co. Rushville, Ill. : Schuyler County Historical Museum, [1984]
Call Number: 912.77347 OG5PINDEX

Farm & Home plat & directory. Schuyler/Brown Counties, Illinois. [map]. Belmond, Iowa : Farm & Home Publishers,
Call Number: 912.77347 F229

Rockford Map Publishers. Schuyler County atlas … Rockford, Ill., [c1963]
Call Number: Q. 912.77347 R59S

Scott County

Where to Start

For the most up to date resources, please use the University's Online Catalog. The dewey call number for Scott County typically starts with "977.345". Some common subject headings for Scott County are:

Scott County (Ill.) --Genealogy.
Scott County (Ill.) --Biography.
Scott County (Ill.) --Maps.

If you have questions about using the online catalog or subject headings, please see Using the Library. We've provided a few areas below to start you off.

County Histories

Portrait and biographical album of Morgan and Scott Counties, Ills. : containing full page portraits and biographical sketches of prominent and representative citizens of the county.
Call Number: Q. 920.077346 P8381984

Atlases

Andreas, Lyter & Co. Atlas map of Scott County, Illinois [cartographic material] / compiled, drawn, and published from personal examinations and surveys, by Andreas, Lyter, & Co. Davenport, Iowa : Andreas, Lyter, & Co., 1873.
Call Number: F. 912.77345 AN25A

W.W. Hixson & Co. Plat book of Scott County, Illinois. [cartographic material] Rockford, [1931?]
Call Number: 912.77345 H64P

Rockford Map Publishers. Land atlas & plat book, Scott County, Illinois / Rockford Map Publishers. Rockford, Ill. : Rockford Map Publishers,
Call Number: Q. 912.773455 R59FA1A

Rockford Map Publishers. Land atlas & plat book, Scott County, Illinois / Rockford Map Publishers. Rockford, Ill. : Rockford Map Publishers,
Call Number: Q. 912.773455 R59F

Shelby County

Where to Start

For the most up to date resources, please use the University's Online Catalog. The dewey call number for Shelby County typically starts with "977.3798". Some common subject headings for Shelby County are:

Shelby County (Ill.) --History.
Shelby County (Ill.) --Biography.
Shelby County (Ill.) --Maps.

If you have questions about using the online catalog or subject headings, please see Using the Library. We've provided a few areas below to start you off.

County Histories

Bateman, Newton, 1822-1897. HISTORICAL ENCYCLOPEDIA OF ILLINOIS AND HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY CHICAGO, 1910.
Call Number: 977.3798 B31h1975

Combined history of Shelby and Moultrie Counties, Illinois : with illustrations descriptive of their scenery and biographical sketches of some of their prominent men and pioneers. Heritage collection from Unigraphic. Illustrated atlas. Evansville, Ind. : Unigraphic, 1980.
Call Number: Q. 977.3798 H621980

Historic sketch and biographical album of Shelby County, Illinois . Shelbyville, Ill. : Wilder, 1900.
Call Number: 977.3798 H6291978

Middlesworth, Grace H. Listing of persons mentioned in townships of the Shelby County, Illinois, 1910 history, compiled by Grace H. Middlesworth. [Decatur, Ill., Decatur Genealogical Society] 1969.
Call Number: 929.3 M582L

Portrait and biographical record of Shelby and Moultrie counties, Illinois : containing biographical sketches of prominent and representative citizens of the counties … Utica, KY : McDowell Publications, [1983]
Call Number: 920.077379 P8381983

Atlases

W.W. Hixson & Co. Plat book of Shelby County, Illinois. Rockford, Ill. [1936?]
Call Number: Q. 912.773798 H64P194-

Geo. A. Ogle & Co. Plat book of Shelby County, Illinois. Compiled and published by Geo. A. Ogle & Co. … Chicago : Geo. A. Ogle, pub., 1895.
Call Number: F. 912.773798 OG5P

Rockford Map Publishers. Farm plat book and business guide, Shelby County, Illinois / sponsored by the Shelby County Farm Bureau, Shelby County Rural Youth. Rockford, Ill. : Rockford Map Publishers, c1950.
Call Number: Q. 912.773798 R59F

Rockford Map Publishers. Plat book with index to owners, Shelby County, Illinois / sponsored by Shelby County 4-H & Junior Fair Association. Rockford, Ill. : Rockford Map Publishers, c1961.
Call Number: Q. 912.773798 R59P

Stark County

Where to Start

For the most up to date resources, please use the University's Online Catalog. The dewey call number for Stark County typically starts with "977.351". Some common subject headings for Stark County are:

Stark County (Ill.) --History.
Stark County (Ill.) --Biography.
Stark County (Ill.) --Maps.

If you have questions about using the online catalog or subject headings, please see Using the Library. We've provided a few areas below to start you off.

County Histories

History of Stark County, Illinois, and its people : a record of settlement, organization, progress and achievement … Chicago : Pioneer Pub. Co., 1916.
Call Number: 977.351 H14H

The Biographical record of Bureau, Marshall, Putnam and Stark Counties, Illinois. Chicago : S.J. Clarke Pub. Co., 1897.
Call Number: 920.0773 B5211974

Ford, Henry Allen. The history of Putnam and Marshall counties : embracing an account of the settlement, early progress and formation of Bureau and Stark counties. With an appendix, containing notices of old settlers ... lists of officers ... / by Henry A. Ford. Henry, Ill. : M. & D. Printing Co., 1981.
Call Number: 977.337 F751981

Leeson, M. A. (Michael A.) Documents and biography pertaining to the settlement and progress of Stark County, Illinois : containing an authentic summary of records, documents, historical works and newspapers relating to Indian history, original settlement, organization and politics ... / written from records and personal reminiscences by M. A. Leeson. Chicago : M.A. Leeson, 1887.
Call Number: 977.351 L51D

Shallenberger, Eliza Jane (Hall), b. 1830- Stark county and its pioneers. By Mrs. E. H. Shallenberger. Cambridge, Ill. : B.W. Seaton, printer, 1876.
Call Number: 977.351 Sh1s

Winnetka Public Library. Genealogy Projects Committee. An index to the names of persons appearing in Stark County and its pioneers. (By Mrs. E.H. Shallenberger. Cambridge, Ill., B.W. Seaton, Prairie Chief Office, 1876). [Indexer: Marie Rabbitt Fulk]. Thomson, Ill. : Heritage, [1973]
Call Number: 977.351 SH1SINDEX

Atlases

W.W. Hixson & Co. Plat book of Stark Co., Ill. [cartographic material] Rockford, Ill., [1926?]
Call Number: 912.77351 H64P

Rockford Map Publishers. Land atlas & plat book ... Stark County, Illinois / Rockford Map Publishers ; sponsored by Stark County Executive Council. Rockford, Ill. : Rockford Map Publishers, 1978-
Call Number: Q. 912.77351 R59a1

WYOMING POST-HERALD. FARM OWNERSHIP MAP AND PLAT BOOK GUIDE, START COUNTY, ILLINOIS. WYOMING
Call Number: Q. 912.77351 W99F

Stephenson County

Where to Start

For the most up to date resources, please use the University's Online Catalog. The dewey call number for Stephenson County typically starts with "977.333". Some common subject headings for Stephenson County are:

Stephenson County (Ill.) --History.
Stephenson County (Ill.) --Biography.
Stephenson County (Ill.) --Maps.

If you have questions about using the online catalog or subject headings, please see Using the Library. We've provided a few areas below to start you off.

County Histories

Portrait and biographical album of Stephenson County, Ill.: containing full page portraits and biographical sketches of prominent and representative citizens of the county, together with portraits and biographies of all the governors of Illinois, and of the presidents of the United States. Chicago : Chapman Bros., 1888.
Call Number: 977.333 C36

The History of Stephenson County, Illinois, containing ... biographical sketches ... war record ... statistics ... portraits of early settlers ... history of the Northwest, history of Illinois, &c. … Chicago : Western Historical Co., 1880.
Call Number: 977.333 H62211973

Prairie Farmer’s directory of Stephenson County, Illinois / compiled and published by Prairie Farmer Publishing Co. [Freeport, Ill. : Stephenson County Genealogical Society, 1988?]
Call Number: 929.377333 P8841988

In the foot-prints of the pioneers of Stephenson County, Illinois : a genealogical record. Freeport, Ill. : Pioneer Pub. Co., 1900.
Call Number: 920.077333 IN91970

Atlases

Combined 1871 Combination atlas map of Stephenson County, Illinois, 1913 Standard atlas and 1894 Plat book.
Call Number: Q. 912.77333 C733

Geo. A. Ogle & Co. Standard atlas of Stephenson County, Illinois, including a plat book of the villages, cities, and townships of the county. Map of the state, United States, and world… Chicago, 1913.
Call Number: F. 912.77333 OG5S

Hutchinson and Nesbit (Cedarville, Ill.) Stephenson County, Illinois, plat book [cartographic material]. Cedarville, c1947.
Call Number: 912.77333 H97S

North West Publishing Company, comp. Plat book of Stephenson County, Illinois. Drawn from actual surveys & county records by the North West Publishing Co. [n.p.] : North West Pub. Co., 1894.
Call Number: F. 912.77333 N81P

Rockford Map Publishers. Land atlas & plat book ... Stephenson County, Illinois / Rockford Map Publishers. Rockford, Ill. : Rockford Map Publishers, 1979-
Call Number: Q. 912.77333 R59TR1

Walling, Henry Francis, 1825-1888. Map of the County of Stephenson, Illinois [map] / from surveys under the direction of H.F. Walling ; surveyed and drawn by C.T. Dunham ; engraved, printed, colored & mounted at H.F. Wallings map establishment. New York : C.T. Dunham, 1859.
Call Number: G4103.S91859 .D81980