Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Genealogy Resources

A guide to finding genealogical materials at the University of Illinois Library.

Jackson County

Where to Start

For the most up to date resources, please use the University's Online Catalog. The dewey call number for Jackson County typically starts with "977.3994". Some common subject headings for Jackson County are:

Jackson County (Ill.) --Biography.
Jackson County (Ill.) --History.
Jackson County (Ill.) --Maps.

If you have questions about using the online catalog or subject headings, please see Using the Library. We've provided a few areas below to start you off.

County Histories

Allen, John W. Jackson County notes. Carbondale, 1945. (Museum of Natural and Social Sciences, Southern Illinois Normal University, Carbondale, Illinois. Contribution no. 21.)
Call Number: 977.3994 AL5J

History of Jackson County, Illinois. Evansville, Ind., Unigraphic, 1973.
Call Number: Q. 977.3994 B771973

Newsome, Edmund. Historical sketches of Jackson County, Illinois. Carbondale, Ill., E. Newsome, 1894.

Atlases

Geo. A. Ogle & Co. Standard atlas of Jackson county, Illinois… Chicago, 1907.
Call Number: F. 912.773994 OG5S

Rockford Map Publishers. Land atlas & plat book ... Jackson County, Illinois. Rockford, 1978.
Call Number: Q. 912.773994 R59A1

Jasper County

Where to Start

For the most up to date resources, please use the University's Online Catalog. The dewey call number for Jasper County typically starts with "977.373". Some common subject headings for Jasper County are:

Jasper County (Ill.) --History.
Jasper County (Ill.) --Maps.

If you have questions about using the online catalog or subject headings, please see Using the Library. We've provided a few areas below to start you off.

County Histories

Counties of Cumberland, Jasper and Richland, Illinois. Historical and biographical. Chicago : F. A. Battey & Co., 1884.
Call Number: 977.373 B32C1975

Greeson, Mary. Complete surname index for 1884 history & biographical book Cumberland, Jasper & Richman Counties, Illinois. Olney, Historical Society Publishers, 1969.
Call Number: 977.373 B32CINDEX

Portrait and biographical record of Effingham, Jasper and Richland Counties Illinois. Chicago : Lake City Publishing Company, 1893.
Call Number: 920.07737 P838

Robins, Martha. Historical development of Jasper County, Illinois. n.p., 1938.
Call Number: 977.374 M557H

Atlases

Hardacre, F.C. Historical atlas of Jasper County, Illinois. Vincennes, Ind., 1902.
Call Number: F. 912.77374 H21H

W.W. Hixson & Co. Plat Book of Jasper County, Illinois. Rockford, 1930.
Call Number: 912.77374 H64P

Rockford Map Publishers. Land atlas & plat book ... Jasper County, Illinois. Rockford, 1976.
Call Number: Q. 912.77374 R59T1

Jefferson County

Where to Start

For the most up to date resources, please use the University's Online Catalog. The dewey call number for Jefferson County typically starts with "977.3793". Some common subject headings for Jefferson County are:

Jefferson County (Ill.) --Biography.
Jefferson County (Ill.) --History.
Jefferson County (Ill.) --Maps.

If you have questions about using the online catalog or subject headings, please see Using the Library. We've provided a few areas below to start you off.

County Histories

Facts and folks : a history of Jefferson County, Illinois. Mt. Vernon, Ill. : Jefferson County Historical Society, 1978.
Call Number: 977.3793 F119

Portrait and biographical record of Clinton, Washington, Marion and Jefferson Counties, Illinois : containing biographical sketches of prominent and representative citizens of the counties together with biographies and portraits of all the governors of the state and the presidents of the United States. Evansville, Ind. : Unigraphic, 1975.
Call Number: Q. 977.379 P8381975

History of Jefferson County, Illinois, 1810-1962. Mt. Vernon, Illinois, 1962.
Call Number: 977.3793 H67

Wall’s history of Jefferson County, Illinois / by John A. Wall. Indianapolis, Ind. : B.F. Bowen & Co., 1909.
Call Number: 977.3793 W15h1973

Atlases

W.W. Hixson & Co. PLAT BOOK OF JEFFERSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. ROCKFORD, 1930.
Call Number: 912.773793 H64P

Triennial atlas & plat book, Jefferson County, Illinois. Rockford, Ill. : Rockford Map Publishers, 1969-[197-]
Call Number: Q. 912.773793 R59T

PLAT BOOK WITH INDEX TO OWNERS, JEFFERSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. ROCKFORD MAP PUBLISHERS, ROCKFORD, ILL. ROCKFORD, 1963.
Call Number: Q. 912.773793 R59P

Illinois. Division of Highways. Jefferson County. [Springfield, Ill.] : State of Illinois, Dept. of Public Works and Buildings, Division of Highways, 1956.
Call Number: G4103.J4P2 1956 .I4

Jersey County

Where to Start

For the most up to date resources, please use the University's Online Catalog. The dewey call number for Jersey County typically starts with "977.3855". Some common subject headings for Jersey County are:

Jersey County (Ill.) --Genealogy.
Jersey County (Ill.) --Biography.
Jersey County (Ill.) --History.
Jersey County (Ill.) --Maps.

If you have questions about using the online catalog or subject headings, please see Using the Library. We've provided a few areas below to start you off.

County Histories

History of Jersey County, Illinois / Ruby Postlewait, project director. [Dallas] : Curtis Media Corporation, 1991.
Call Number: Q. 977.3855 H629

History of Jersey County, Illinois / edited by Oscar B. Hamilton. Chicago : Munsell Pub. Co., 1919.
Call Number: 977.3855 H18H1969

Hamilton, B. B. Historical sketch of Jersey County, Illinois. Delivered at Jerseyville, July 4, 1876. Jacksonville, Ill., Courier Printing House, 1876.
Call Number: 977.385 H18h

History of Greene and Jersey Counties, Illinois : together with sketches of the towns, villages and townships, educational, civil, military, and political history; portraits of prominent individuals, and biographies of representative men, History of Illinois ... Springfield, Ill. : Continental Historical, 1885.
Call Number: 977.384 H62

Atlases

Atlas map of Jersey County, Illinois / compiled, drawn and published from personal examinations and surveys, by Andreas, Lyter, & Co. Evansville, Ind.: Unigraphic, 1973.
Call Number: Q. 912.77385 AN2A1973

Tri-annual atlas & plat book, Jersey County, Illinois. Rockford, Ill. : Rockford Map Publishers, [196- - 196-]
Call Number: Q. 912.773855 R59T

Standard atlas of Jersey County, Ill. [cartographic material] : including a plat book of the villages, cities and townships of the County : map of the State, United States and World ; patrons directory, reference business directory and departments devoted to general information ; analysis of the system of U.S. Land Surveys, digest of the system of civil government, etc. / compiled and published by Geo. A. Ogle & Co., publishers and engravers. Chicago, Ill. : Ogle, 1916.
Call Number: F. 912.77385 OG5S

Farm & Home plat & directory. Greene/Jersey Counties, Illinois. [map]. Belmond, Iowa : Farm & Home Publishers,
Call Number: Q. 912.77384 F229

Jo Daviess County

Where to Start

For the most up to date resources, please use the University's Online Catalog. The dewey call number for Jo Daviess County typically starts with "977.334". Some common subject headings for Jo Daviess County are:

Jo Daviess County (Ill.) --Genealogy.
Jo Daviess County (Ill.) --Biography.
Jo Daviess County (Ill.) --History.
Jo Daviess County (Ill.) --Maps.

If you have questions about using the online catalog or subject headings, please see Using the Library. We've provided a few areas below to start you off.

County Histories

History of Jo Daviess County, Illinois : containing a history of the county--its cities, towns, etc. … Evansville, Ind. : Unigraphic, 1977.
Call Number: 977.334 H6291977

Prairie Farmers’ directory of Jo Daviess County, Illinois : complete directory of the farmers of Jo Daviess County, with valuable information about each farm. Breeders’ directory, giving full classified list of breeders of purebred livestock and poultry. Business directory, giving list of all business houses in Jo Daviess County. Valuable statistics and general information / by Prairie Farmer Publishing Company. Thomson, Ill. : Heritage House, [197-]
Call Number: 630.025773343 P884

Portrait and biographical album of Jo Daviess and Carroll counties, Illinois, containing full page portraits and biographical sketches of prominent and representative citizens of the county, together with portraits and biographies of all the governors of the State, and of the Presidents of the United States. Chicago : Chapman Brothers, 1889.
Call Number: 977.334 P838

Historical encyclopedia of Illinois, ed. by Newton Bateman, LL. D., Paul Selby, A.M.; and history of Jo Daviess County, ed. by Hon. William Spensley … Chicago : Munsell Pub. Co., 1904.
Call Number: 977.323 B31H

Atlases

Land atlas & plat book ... Jo Daviess County, Illinois / Rockford Map Publishers. Rockford, Ill. : Rockford Map Publishers ; Elizabeth, Ill. : Distributed by Jo Daviess County Farm Bureau, 1976-
Call Number: Q. 912.77334 R59T1

Combined atlases and plat books of Jo Daviess County, Illinois, 1872, 1893, 1913. Evansville, Ind. : Unigraphic, 1980.
Call Number: Q. 912.77334 C733

Tri-annual atlas & plat book, Jo Daviess County, Illinois. Rockford, Ill. : Rockford Map Publishers, [19--] -[ 196-]
Call Number: Q. 912.77334 R59T

Geo. A. Ogle & Co. Standard atlas of Jo Daviess County, Illinois, including a plat book … Chicago, 1913.
Call Number: F. 912.77334 OG5S

Johnson County

Where to Start

For the most up to date resources, please use the University's Online Catalog. The dewey call number for Johnson County typically starts with "977.399". Some common subject headings for Johnson County are:

Johnson County (Ill.) --Genealogy.
Johnson County (Ill.) --Biography.
Johnson County (Ill.) --History.
Johnson County (Ill.) --Maps.

If you have questions about using the online catalog or subject headings, please see Using the Library. We've provided a few areas below to start you off.

County Histories

The biographical review of Johnson, Massac, Pope and Hardin Counties, Illinois : containing biographical sketches of prominent and representative citizens. The biographical review of Johnson, Massac, Pope and Hardin Counties, Illinois : containing biographical sketches of prominent and representative citizens. [Reprint]
Call Number: 977.399 B521979

Chapman, Leorah May Copeland. A history of Johnson County, Illinois, by Mrs. P. T. Chapman. Herrin, Ill. : Press of the Herrin news, c1925.
Call Number: 977.3996 C36H1973

Atlases

General Map Company, Rockford, Ill. Plat book, Johnson County, Illinois. Rockford, c1950.
Call Number: Q. 912.773996 G28P

Hixson, W.W. & Co. Plat book of Johnson Co., Ill. Rockford, [1926?]
Call Number: 912.773996 H64P

Rockford Map Publishers. Land atlas & plat book, Johnson County, Illinois. Rockford, 1978-
Call Number: Q. 912.773996 R59A1