Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Genealogy Resources

A guide to finding genealogical materials at the University of Illinois Library.

Hamilton County

Where to Start

For the most up to date resources, please use the University's Online Catalog. The dewey call number for Hamilton County typically starts with "977.39". Some common subject headings for Hamilton County are:

Hamilton County (Ill.) --Genealogy.
Hamilton County (Ill.) --History.
Hamilton County (Ill.) --Maps.

If you have questions about using the online catalog or subject headings, please see Using the Library. We've provided a few areas below to start you off.

County Histories

History of Gallatin, Saline, Hamilton, Franklin, and Williamson counties, Illinois, from the earliest time to the present; together with sundry and interesting biographical sketches, notes, reminiscences, etc., etc. Chicago, Goodspeed Pub. Co., 1887. [Evansville, Ind., Unigraphic, 1967]
Call Number: 977.39 H621967

Winnetka Public Library. Genealogy Projects Committee AN INDEX TO THE NAMES OF PERSONS APPEARING IN THE HISTORY OF GALLATIN, SALINE, HAMILTON, FRANKLIN AND WILLIAMSON COUNTIES, ILLINOIS. THOMSON, 1973.
Call Number: 977.39 H621973INDEX

Atlases

General Map Company (Rockford, Ill.) Plat book, Hamilton County, Illinois [cartographic material]. Rockford, c1951.
Call Number: Q. 912.77395 G28P

W.W. Hixson & Co. PLAT BOOK OF HAMILTON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. ROCKFORD, 1930.
Call Number: 912.77395 H64P

Rockford Map Publishers. Land atlas & plat book, Hamilton County, Illinois / Rockford Map Publishers. Rockford : Rockford Map Publishers, Inc., 1982-
Call Number: Q. 912.77395 R59T1

Hancock County

Where to Start

For the most up to date resources, please use the University's Online Catalog. The dewey call number for Hancock County typically starts with "977.343". Some common subject headings for Hancock County are:

Hancock County (Ill.) --Genealogy.
Hancock County (Ill.) --Biography.
Hancock County (Ill.) --History.
Hancock County (Ill.) --Maps.

If you have questions about using the online catalog or subject headings, please see Using the Library. We've provided a few areas below to start you off.

County Histories

Bateman, Newton, 1822-1897. Historical encyclopedia of Illinois / edited by Newton Bateman, Paul Selby, J. Seymour Currey ; and History of Hancock County / edited by Charles J. Scofield. Chicago : Munsell Pub. Co., 1921.
Call Number: 977.3 B31h1975

Biographical review of Hancock County, Illinois : containing biographical and genealogical sketches of many of the prominent citizens of to-day and also of the past. Chicago, Ill. : Hobart Pub. Co., 1907.
Call Number: 920.07734 B5211973

Gregg, Thomas, 1808-1892. History of Hancock County, Illinois : together with an outline history of the State, and a digest of State laws / by Th. Gregg. Chicago : C.C. Chapman, 1880.
Call Number: 977.343 G86H

Hancock County (Ill.). Board of Supervisors. History of Hancock County, Illinois. Illinois Sesquicentennial ed., 1818-1968. Carthage, Ill. : Board of Supervisors of Hancock County, 1968.
Call Number: 977.343 H6292

Portrait and biographical record of Hancock, McDonough and Henderson counties, Illinois : containing biographical sketches of prominent and representative citizens of the county. [Chicago, Ill.] : Lake City Pub. Co., 1894.
Call Number: 920.077341 P83

Atlases

An illustrated historical atlas of Hancock County, Illinois : map work of townships and plats made by Gen. Chas. A. Gilchrist. Chicago, Ill. : Published by A.T. Andreas, 1874.
Call Number: F. 912.77343 An2i

Helms, J. C. Plat book of Hancock County by townships. [cartographic material] Carthage, Ill. : J.C. Helms, c1908.
Call Number: F. 912.77343 H36P

W.W. Hixson & Co. Plat book of Hancock County, Illinois. [cartographic material] Rockford, Ill, [1932?]
Call Number: 912.77343 H64P

20th century atlas of Hancock County, Illinois [cartographic material] : containing maps of villages, cities and townships of the county. Chicago : Middle-West Publishing, 1904.
Call Number: F. 912.77343 M58T

Rockford Map Publishers. Rockford Map Publishers. Rockford, Ill. : Rockford Map Publishers, 1955.
Call Number: Q. 912.77343 R59F

Hardin County

Where to Start

For the most up to date resources, please use the University's Online Catalog. The dewey call number for Hardin County typically starts with "977.398". Some common subject headings for Hardin County are:

Hardin County (Ill.) --Biography.
Hardin County (Ill.) --History.
Hardin County (Ill.) --Maps.

If you have questions about using the online catalog or subject headings, please see Using the Library. We've provided a few areas below to start you off.

County Histories

The biographical review of Johnson, Massac, Pope and Hardin Counties, Illinois : containing biographical sketches of prominent and representative citizens. Hartford, Ky. : Cook & McDowell Publications, [1979].
Call Number: 977.399 B521979

Hardin County (Ill.). Historical Committee for the Centennial. History of Hardin County, Illinois / written by the Historical Committee for the Centennial. Golconda, Ill. : Herald-Enterprise, 1939.
Call Number: 977.398 H219H

Atlases

Rockford Map Publishers. Land atlas & plat book, Pope-Hardin County, Illinois / Rockford Map Publishers ; sponsored by Golconda Rotary Club. Rockford, Ill. : Rockford Map Publishers,
Call Number: Q. 912.7739 R591A1

W.W. Hixson & Co. Plat book of Hardin County, Illinois [cartographic material]. Rockford, Ill., [1940?]
Call Number: Q. 912.77398 H64P1940

W.W. Hixson & Co. Plat book of Hardin County, Illinois. [cartographic material] Rockford, Ill., [1926?]
Call Number: Q. 912.77398 H64P

Henderson County

Where to Start

For the most up to date resources, please use the University's Online Catalog. The dewey call number for Henderson County typically starts with "977.341". Some common subject headings for Henderson County are:

Henderson County (Ill.) --Biography.
Henderson County (Ill.) --History.
Henderson County (Ill.) --Maps.

If you have questions about using the online catalog or subject headings, please see Using the Library. We've provided a few areas below to start you off.

County Histories

Historical encyclopedia of Illinois / edited by Newton Bateman, Paul Selby ; and, History of Henderson County / edited by James W. Gordon. Chicago : Munsell Pub. Co., 1911.
Call Number: 977.341 B31H

History of Mercer and Henderson Counties : together with biographical matter, statistics, etc. Chicago : H.H. Hill and Co., 1882.
Call Number: 977.339 H6291

Portrait and biographical record of Hancock, McDonough and Henderson counties, Illinois : containing biographical sketches of prominent and representative citizens of the county, together with biographies and portraits of all the Presidents of the United States. Cleveland, Ohio : Bell and Howell, [1967?]
Call Number: 920.077341 P833

Atlases

Standard Map Company. Atlas and farm directory of Mercer & Henderson Counties, Illinois; compiled from county records and actual surveys. [Chicago] Standard Map Co., 1914.
Call Number: Q. 912.77339 ST2A

Rockford Map Publishers. Land atlas & plat book, Henderson County, Illinois / Rockford Map Publishers. Rockford, Ill. : Rockford Map Publishers, -1992.
Call Number: Q. 912.77341 R59t1

Geo. A. Ogle & Co., comp. Standard atlas of Henderson County, Illinois. Including a plat book of the villages, cities and townships of the county, map of the State, United States and world: patrons directory, reference business directory and departments devoted to general information; analysis of the system of U.S. Land Surveys, digest of the system of civil government, etc., etc. Chicago, Compiled and Published by Geo. A. Ogle & Co., Publishers & Engravers, 1900.
Call Number: F. 912.77341 OG5S

W.W. Hixson & Co. PLAT BOOK OF HENDERSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. ROCKFORD, 1930.
Call Number: 912.77341 H64P

Henry County

Where to Start

For the most up to date resources, please use the University's Online Catalog. The dewey call number for Henry County typically starts with "977.338". Some common subject headings for Henry County are:

Henry County (Ill.) --Biography.
Henry County (Ill.) --History.
Henry County (Ill.) --Maps.

If you have questions about using the online catalog or subject headings, please see Using the Library. We've provided a few areas below to start you off.

County Histories

The biographical record of Henry County, Illinois. Chicago : S.J. Clarke, 1901.
Call Number: 920.077338 B52

Kiner, Henry L., 1851- History of Henry County, Illinois, by Henry L. Kiner. Also biographical sketches of many representative citizens of the county … Chicago : The Pioneer Pub. Co., 1910.
Call Number: 977.338 K57H

History of Henry county, Illinois : it’s taxpayers and voters; containing also, a biographical directory, a condensed history of the state; map of the county; a business directory...etc. Chicago : H. F. Kett, 1877.
Call Number: 977.338 K51H

Polson, Terry Ellen. Corn, commerce and country living : a history of Henry County, Illinois / edited by Terry Ellen Polson ; illustrated by Larry R. Garrett. Moline, Ill. : Desaulniers, 1968.
Call Number: 977.338 P76C

Atlases

Standard atlas of Henry County, Illinois : including a plat book of the villages, cities and townships of the county ... patrons directory, reference business directory … Chicago : G.A. Ogle, 1911.
Call Number: F. 912.77338 OG5S

Map of Henry County, Illinois [map] / compiled and published by P. Holmes; engraved, printed, colored & mounted by Edw. Mendel. [Chicago, Ill.] : P. Holmes, 1860.
Call Number: G4103.H61860 .H61980

Rockford Map Publishers. Land atlas & plat book ... Henry County, Illinois / Rockford Map Publishers. Rockford, Ill. : Rockford Map Publishers ; Cambridge, Ill. : Distributed by Henry County Farm Bureau,
Call Number: Q. 912.77338 R59T1

General Map Company. Plat book, Henry County, Illinois. [cartographic material]. Rockford, Ill., 1954.
Call Number: Q. 912.77338 G28P