Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Genealogy Resources

A guide to finding genealogical materials at the University of Illinois Library.

Edgar County

Where to Start

For the most up to date resources, please use the University's Online Catalog. The dewey call number for Edgar County typically starts with "977.369". Some common subject headings for Edgar County are:

Edgar County (Ill.) --Biography.
Edgar County (Ill.) --History.
Edgar County (Ill.) --Maps.

If you have questions about using the online catalog or subject headings, please see Using the Library. We've provided a few areas below to start you off.

County Histories

HISTORICAL ENCYCLOPEDIA OF ILLINOIS AND HISTORY OF EDGAR COUNTY. CHICAGO, 1905. Bateman, Newton, 1822-1897.
Call Number: 977.369 B31H

Prairie progress : a history of Edgar County, 1880-1975 / Edgar County Historical Society. Dallas, Tex. : Taylor, c1976.
Call Number: 977.369 ED33P

The History of Edgar County, Illinois, containing a history of the county--its cities, towns, &c. : directory of its tax-payers; war records of its volunteers in the late rebellion portraits of early settlers and prominent men; general and local statistics; map of Edgar County; history of Illinois, illustrated; history of the northwest, illustrated; constitution of the United States, miscellaneous matters, &c., &c. Illustrated. Chicago : W. Le Baron, Jr., 1879.
Call Number: 977.369 H6291973

Souvenir history of Edgar County, 1823-1893 : containing a history of the organization of the county, building of old court house, history of the new court house, county and township officers. La Crosse, Wis. : Brookhaven Press, c2001.
Call Number: 977.369 So892001

Atlases

Farm plat book and business guide, Edgar County, Illinois. Rockford, Ill. : Rockford Map Publishers, 1948.
Call Number: 912.77369 R59F

Standard atlas of Edgar County, Illinois : including a plat book of the villages, cities and townships of the county, map of the state, United States and world, patron’s directory, reference business directory and departments devoted to general information, analysis of the system of U.S. land surveys, digest of the system of civil government, etc., etc. Chicago : Geo. A. Ogle and Co., 1910.
Call Number: F. 912.77369 OG5S

W.W. Hixson & Co. PLAT BOOK OF EDGAR COUNTY, ILLINOIS. ROCKFORD, 1930.
Call Number: 912.77369 H64P

Edwards County

Where to Start

For the most up to date resources, please use the University's Online Catalog. The dewey call number for Edwards County typically starts with "977.37". Some common subject headings for Edwards County are:

Edwards County (Ill.) --Biography.
Edwards County (Ill.) --History.
Edwards County (Ill.) --Maps.

If you have questions about using the online catalog or subject headings, please see Using the Library. We've provided a few areas below to start you off.

County Histories

Combined history of Edwards, Lawrence and Wabash counties, Illinois : with illustrations descriptive of their scenery and biographical sketches of some of their prominent men and pioneers. Owensboro, Ky. : McDowell Publications, [1982?]
Call Number: 977.37 D14C1982

Yester-years in Edwards County, Illinois : a simple tale for simple people / compiled by a simple writer [i.e. E. L. Dukes]. 2d ed., with corrections and additions by the author. Dukes, Edgar Louis, 1876-
Call Number: 977.3791 D88Y1946

Atlases

W.W. Hixson & Co. PLAT BOOK OF EDWARDS COUNTY, ILLINOIS. ROCKFORD, 1926.
Call Number: 912.773791 H64P

Rockford Map Publishers. Land atlas & plat book ... Edwards-Wabash County, Illinois / Rockford Map Publishers. Rockford, Ill. : Rockford Map Publishers ; Albion, Ill. : Distributed by St. Ledger Insurance Agency, 1978-
Call Number: Q. 912.77378 R59T1

August Gast Bank Note & Lithographing Company. Edwards County, Illinois, 1890 [map] / compiled from official records and surveys. St. Louis : Aug. Gast Bank Note & Litho. Company, [1890]
Call Number: G4103.E31890 .A81980

Standard atlas of Edwards County, Illinois : including a plat book of the villages, cities and townships of the county. Map of the state, United States and world. Patrons directory, reference business directory and departments devoted to general information. Analysis of the system of U.S. Land surveys, digest of the system of civil government, etc. etc. Chicago : Geo. A. Ogle, 1907.
Call Number: F. 912.773791 OG5S

Effingham County

Where to Start

For the most up to date resources, please use the University's Online Catalog. The dewey call number for Effingham County typically starts with "977.3796". Some common subject headings for Effingham County are:

Effingham County (Ill.) --Biography.
Effingham County (Ill.) --History.
Effingham County (Ill.) --Maps.

If you have questions about using the online catalog or subject headings, please see Using the Library. We've provided a few areas below to start you off.

County Histories

History of Effingham county, Illinois / edited by William Henry Perrin. Chicago : O. L. Baskin & Co., 1883.
Call Number: 977.3796 P42H

Portrait and biographical record of Effingham, Jasper and Richland Counties Illinois: containing biographical sketches of prominent and representative citizens, governors of the state, and of the presidents of the United States. Chicago : Lake City Publishing Company, 1893.
Call Number: 920.07737 P838

Index to History of Effingham County, Illinois, 1883. Effingham, Ill. : Effingham County Genealogical Society, 1987.
Call Number: 977.3796 P42HSUP

Atlases

Land atlas & plat book ... Effingham County, Illinois / Rockford Map Publishers. Rockford, Ill. : Rockford Map Publishers, 1977-
Call Number: Q. 912.773796 R59T1

FARM PLAT BOOK WITH INDEX TO OWNERS, EFFINGHAM COUNTY, ILLINOIS. ROCKFORD MAP PUBLISHERS, ROCKFORD, ILL. ROCKFORD, 1963.
Call Number: Q. 912.773796 R59FA

Farm plat book and business guide, Effingham County, Illinois. [cartographic material] Rockford, Ill. : Rockford Map Publishers, c1949.
Call Number: Q. 912.773796 R59F

Standard atlas of Effingham County, Illinois, including a plat book of the villages, cities and townships of the county. Map of the state, United States and world. Patrons directory, reference business directory ... Analysis of the system of U.S. land surveys, digest of the system of civil government, etc., etc. Compiled and published by Geo. A. Ogle & Co. Chicago : Geo. A. Ogle & Co., 1899.
Call Number: F. 912.773796 OG5S