LibGuides: Brass Resource Guide: Trumpet Performance and Practice Materials

Introduction

This page collects selected performance and practice materials available at MPAL! For suggestions to help you do some searching on your own for related material, refer to the call number and subject heading recommendations at the bottom of the page. As always, if you have any trouble finding material in the Library or navigating the catalog, don't hesitate to ask at the service desk!

Trumpet Bibliographies & Repertoire Guides

Below are a few examples of the trumpet bibliographies and repertoire guides available in MPAL or by request through the online catalog.

The Jazz Standards by Gioia, Ted
Call Number: ML128.J3 G56 2012
This resource is a comprehensive guide to more than 250 key jazz songs and includes a listening guide to over 2,000 recordings. The author outlines the history and significance of these compositions and tells how they have been performed by different generations of jazz artists.
The Real Book (Bb) by Hal Leonard Corp.
Call Number: M1366 .R435bv.1 2004
The Real Books are a series of published compilations of lead sheets and melody lines for popular jazz compositions and standards. This specific item is in the key of Bb for performers.
A Thematic Dictionary and Planning Guide of Selected Solo Literature for Trumpet by Echelard, Donald Joseph
Call Number: FILM ML102.T7 E23
This resource is a microfilm copy of a thematic dictionary and guide to solo music literature for the trumpet written as a thesis for a Doctorate in Education. This resource is part of the special collections for the library, so it is non-circulating and must only be used in the library.
Twentieth-Century Music for Trumpet and Orchestra by Carnovale, Norbert
Call Number: ML128.T78 C27
This resource is an annotated bibliography of compositions for trumpet and orchestra from the 20th Century. The booklet includes a list of recommended compositions for performance based on grade level, the addresses and locations of publishers and sources, and a bibliography for similar resources.

Trumpet Instruction and Study Materials

The following are some examples of materials on trumpet instruction and study that can be found in MPAL and online.

Buzz to Brilliance by Griffin, Adrian D. and Elise Winters
Call Number: MT440 .G75B8 2012
This resource is meant to engage students personally, technically, and musically as they begin their study on the trumpet. The resource includes chapters on practice skills, sight-reading, and performing in addition to special features giving a window into diverse worlds related to the trumpet, from the workbench of a master repairman to the French horn studio of a master teacher.
Trumpet Technique by Campos, Frank Gabriel
Call Number: MT440 C35T7
Trumpet Technique combines the newest research on skill acquisition and peak performance with the time-honored and proven techniques of master teachers and performers. All aspects of brass technique are discussed in detail, including the breath, embouchure, oral cavity, tongue, jaw, and proper body use, as well as information on performance psychology, practice techniques, musicians' occupational injuries, and much more.
The Greatest Jazz Hits of Woody Shaw: Jazz Trumpet Solos by Shaw, Woody
Call Number: M86 S52G73
This resource is a compilation of 15 notated solos by jazz trumpeter Woody Shaw transcribed from their recordings. These notations include the chord changes for trumpet and concert key from the recordings along with his own articulations.
Jazz Conception: 21 Solo Etudes for Jazz Phrasing, Interpretation, and Improvisation: Trumpet by Snidero, Jim
Call Number: MT445 .S65J3
This resource is a compilation of etudes based on jazz standards and blues meant to teach trumpet players about the language of jazz. There is an accompanying CD to this resource that includes two tracks for each etude, one with the soloist playing with the rhythm section and the other without the soloist.
Miles Davis Transcribed Solos: Exactly as Recorded with Original Prestige Recordings by Davis, Miles
Call Number: M88D28 M5
This resource is a compilation of notated solos for Bb instruments by Miles Davis from his recordings for Prestige Records between October 1951 and October 1956. The notations include the chord changes for all of the pieces.
Trumpet Pedagogy: A Compendium of Modern Teaching Techniques by Hickman, David
Call Number: MT440 .H53T7 2006
This resource is considered to be the most comprehensive book about trumpet playing and pedagogy. The book was written by David Hickman, one of the world's foremost trumpet pedagogues who has over 35 years of university teaching experience.

All Things Trumpet
AllThingsTrumpet.com is a blog focusing on research, education, and reviews of musical issues related to the trumpet created by David Cooper, the Director of Jazz Studies at the University of Wisconsin-Platteville. The blog is a completely free online resource and it contains several articles on practice and performance tips, improvisation techniques, and general trumpet issues.