Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Battery Recycling: Recycling Options for Businesses and Organizations

Information on battery recycling including links to recycling resources in Champaign-Urbana.

Battery Recycling for University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign Departments

The University of Illinois does not coordinate or pay for battery recycling for campus departments. If your department has a small number of batteries to recycle, use one of the local options listed.

For larger quantities, your department can purchase battery recycling containers from Call2Recycle (https://www.call2recycle.org/store/​). Remember that Illinois law requires that the battery terminals are taped on both rechargable and single use batteries prior to recycling.

Recycling Options for Businesses and Collection Programs

Most local drop-off sites only accept household quantities of batteries. If your organization or business wants to offer battery recycling, one option is to partner with Call2Recycle. From their web site:

Businesses, communities, municipalities and public agencies can sign up to become a Call2Recycle collection location to collect batteries and cell phones. They can choose to only collect from their staff within their organizations or collect from the public. There is no cost to participate or to recycle through the Call2Recycle program.

Collection locations ship batteries and cell phones for recycling to INMETCO in Ellwood City, Pennsylvania for sorting before the materials are prepared for the recycling process.

If collection locations are set up to use Call2Recycle collection kit, they will automatically receive additional boxes and materials when their inventory runs low.

ISTC's technical assistance staff works with Interstate Battery to recycle large quantities of all types of batteries. Local contact information is:

Interstate Batteries
Mark Martinez (manager)
2504 North Mattis Avenue
Champaign, IL 61822
(217) 355-4855

For more information, see Interstate Batteries Recycling page at http://corporate.interstatebatteries.com/recycling/. It includes a contact form you can fill out to receive information targeted toward your specific situation.

Battery Solutions sells pre-paid, all-inclusive recycling kits. Each iRecycle Kit purchase includes: a collection container, EPA-approved recycling of all materials, shipping charges, recycling instructions, and a Certificate of Recycling. iRecycle Kit includes a Certificate of Recycling Request Card that customer fills out and sends in with filled kit. They will accept larger quantities but the sender is responsible for shipping charges.