LibGuides: Intellectual Property: Patents

Patent Quick Links

United States Patent and Trademark Office
The federal agency for granting U.S. patents and registering trademarks.
US Patent Office Patent Search
Various methods for searching US patents.
Cornell's Legal Information Institute: Patent Overview
Summary of the legal concepts with links to basic resources.
Google Patents
Search patent filings through Google.
Patentscope
Search international and national patent applications from several countries. Maintained by the World Intellectual Property Organization.
Patent Fetcher
Free PDFs of patents and patent applications.

Library Patent Research

Patent Infringement Litigation Handbook: Avoidance and Management by Alan R. Thiele, Judith R. Blakeway and Charles M. Hosch
Call Number: KF3155.T54 2010
The Global Governance of Knowledge : Patent Offices and Their Clients by Peter Drahos
Call Number: K1505.D73 2010

The Law Library has several print resources on patent law topics. Try the catalog for further resources.

Patent News and Blogs

Patently-O
Very popular patent news blog.
ABA Journal: Patent Law
Patent news from the ABA.
Green Patent Blog
Blog focusing on intellectual property issues related to green technology.
Kluwer Patent Blog
Publication of Kluwer Law International providing information and news on European patent law.
EPLAW Patent Blog
European blog on patent law.
World Patent Information
Worldwide forum for the exchange of information between people working professionally in the field of Industrial Property information. UIUC access only.

Patent Treatises and Secondary Sources

Chisum on Patents : a Treatise on the Law of Patentability, Validity and Infringement
16 updating volumes on all aspects of patent law, call number KF3110.C45. Also available on Lexis (law access only).
Moy's Walker on Patents
6 updated volumes. Call number KF3114.W32 2003. Also available on Westlaw (law access only).
Manual of Patent Examining Procedure (8th)
Available in print, call number KF3114.W32. Also available on Westlaw (law access only).
World Patent Law and Practice
Updated treatise on international and and foreign patent law. Call number K1505.4.B381. Available on Lexis (law access only).
Terrell on the Law of Patents
UK patent law and practice. Call number KD1360.T47x 2006. Available on Westlaw (law access only).
Encyclopedia of UK and European Patent Law
Call number KJC2724.4.E53.
Intelliconnect: Patent Claim Construction
Helps lawyers understand the rules of claim construction and identify the rules most advantageous to their position. UIUC access only.
Medical Patent Business Week
Reports the latest patent filings for new drugs, genetic discoveries, and medical materials and devices, together with business trends and fiscal reports from the companies patenting their products. UIUC access only.
Patent Strategy and Management
Provides specialized, in depth coverage of legal and practical developments, along with insightful analysis and perspective from a distinguished board of editors drawn from the worlds of law, business, IP consulting, and high technology. UIUC access only.

Patent Statutes, Regulations and Treaties

United States Code
Patents are covered under Title 35. Annotations available in print at call number KF62.W4 and on Westlaw and Lexis (law access only).
Code of Federal Regulations
Patents are covered under Title 37: Patents, Trademarks and Copyrights. Print version available at call number KF70.A2.
Patent Cooperation Treaty
The Patent Cooperation Treaty is one of the major treaties governing the international registration and regulation of patents. The World Intellectual Property Organization maintains extensive material related to the treaty and its enforcement.
Agreement on Trade Related Aspects of Intellectual Property Rights (TRIPS)
An international agreement governed by the WTO that sets standards for IP regulation in WTO member countries. The WTO website contains the text of the treaty and supplemental materials.
Other Intellectual Property Treaties [Westlaw]
A Westlaw database that contains several IP-related treaties, agreements, and other materials. Law access only.

Patent Case Reporters

As with all cases decided under federal jurisdiction patent cases that reach the appellate level are reported in the standard federal reporters. There are also several reporters the specialize in patent and IP cases:

Federal Intellectual Property Patent Cases [Westlaw]
A Westlaw database that contains cases from the U.S. Supreme Court, Court of Appeals, District Courts, Bankruptcy Courts, Court of Federal Claims, U.S. Tax Courts, Military Courts, and related federal and territorial courts that address patent rights. Coverage begins with 1800. Law access only.
Patent Cases from Federal Courts [Lexis]
A Lexis database containing patent cases from the federal courts, Board of Patent Appeals and Interferences, the Commissioner of Patents and Trademarks, and the International Trade Commission Series 337 and 731. Law access only.
BNA United States Patents Quarterly
Available as part of BNA's Intellectual Property Law Resource Center. Choose 'Patent Law' tab. Also available on Lexis (law access only).
Federal Patent Briefs [Westlaw]
A Westlaw database that offers selected briefs filed with the U.S. Supreme Court, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit, and other courts of appeals that relate to patents. Coverage begins with 1905. Law access only.
Reports of Patent, Design and Trademark Cases
Decisions, judgments, and orders from the United Kingdom Patent Office and U.K. courts. Coverage begins with 1977. Also available on Westlaw (law access only).

The Law Library

Law Library

Email Me

Contact:

Reference Desk : (217) 244-0614; Circulation Desk: (217) 333-2915

Subjects: Law

Contact Information

504 East Pennsylvania Avenue
Champaign, IL 61820
(217) 244-0614 (reference)

View Larger Map

Library Hours:

Fall 2013
August 25 —December 20, 2013:

Monday – Thursiday: 8:00 am – midnight

Friday: 8:00 am – 9:00 pm

Saturday: 10:00 am – 9:00 pm

Sunday: 10:00 am – midnight

Labor Day Weekend:

Saturday, August 31: 10:00 a.m. – 9:00 p.m.

Sunday, September 1: 10:00 a.m. – 9:00 p.m.

Monday, September 2: 10:00 a.m. – midnight

Fall 2013 Reference Hours:

Monday – Friday:
9:00 am – 7:00 pm

Saturday:
No Reference

Sunday:
1:00 pm – 5:00 pm

No Reference Service on September 1 & 2

Disclaimer

The University of Illinois Law Library provides these Web pages as a service to our users and they are not intended to be taken as legal or non-legal advice on any subject. The legal information provided in this website is for general reference only, and should not be relied upon for legal purposes. You should always consult a lawyer to determine your legal rights.