Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Secondary Research Resource Guide for Innovation Immersion Program 2016: Home

This resource guide provides links to key business resources, including public web sites and UIUC resources including databases, books, and journals.

Need More Help?

Business Information Services (BIS) is there for you! BIS is a digital research library that provides research consultation services (Mon-Thurs 10am-12:00pm and 1:30-4:30pm) and great web resources. Visit http://www.library.illinois.edu/bis/ to explore business subject guides, lists of business e-Journals, and more!

Their “Quick Business Questions” page under “Do-it-Yourself” is especially helpful for preliminary research. Here are some sample keywords to use to get the hang of "Quick Business Questions":

  • "international companies" or "international business"
  • "market research"
  • "economics" or "global economics"

 

This resource guide provides links to key business resources, including public web sites and UIUC resources including databases, books, and journals.

Please explore the tabs at the top of this guide and don’t hesitate to contact Mary Baker at baker54@illinois.edu or Yoo-Seong Song at yoosong@illinois.edu  if you have any questions about accessing or using these resources. 

Other Useful Libraries and their Collections

Different libraries on campus have different collections and subject specialties. Exploring collections at libraries other than BIS may be helpful to understand the context of your market research. Here is a brief list of libraries that may be especially helpful:

Communications Library (located inside Gregory Hall, near Wright Street entrance)

  • This library's collection has a heavy advertising and media focus, which may be useful when considering marketing strategies
  • The Communications Library also has an International Satellite TV News Lounge, where you can watch live newscasts from 8 different countries. Find out more here!

Grainger Library (located at 1301 W. Springfield Ave, just off the Engineering Quad)

  • Grainger's webpage has the ability to search multiple Business and Engineering databases at once, which may be useful if you are researching a highly technical industry

Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library (located in Rooms 100 and 101 of Main Library Building, 1408 W. Gregory Drive)

 

Subject Resources

Yoo-Seong Song's picture
Yoo-Seong Song
Contact:
Room 205 LER Building

217-333-8021