Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

English Studies Databases: Home

Note

Some databases have user guides. To find find them, click on the adjacent red flag. 

Broader Databases

American and Caribbean Studies

    Uncle Tom's Cabin & American Culture-- a multimedia archive at the University of Virginia

European Studies

Linguistics Databases

  • Oxford Bibliographies: Linguistics  Oxford Bibliographies in Linguistics is an entirely new and unique type of reference tool that has been specially created to meet a great need among today’s students and scholars. It offers more than other bibliography initiatives on- and offline by providing expert commentary to help students and scholars find, negotiate, and assess the large amount of information readily available to them. It facilitates research in a way that other guides cannot by providing direct links to online library catalogs and other online resources. Organizing the resource around discrete subject entries will allow for quick and easy navigation that users expect when working on screen. For more information: http://www.oxfordbibliographies.com/obo/page/linguistics.

PLEASE NOTE THAT YOU WILL NEED TO SELECT THE SUBJECT AREA “LINGUISTICS” TO LIMIT YOUR RESULTS.


  • Corpus of Contemporary American English (COCA) The Corpus of Contemporary American English (COCA) is the largest freely-available corpus of English, and the only large and balanced corpus of American English. The corpus contains more than 450 million words of text and is equally divided among spoken, fiction, popular magazines, newspapers, and academic texts.
  • MiCase_Michigan Corpus of Academic Spoken English Online collection of transcripts of academic speeches presented at the University of Michigan (may also include some sound recordings of speeches). Intended for use in a research project examining the characteristics of academic speech.

CDs of MiCase: the Michigan Corpus of Academic Spoken English are available at the Literatures and Languages Library along with accompanying book for MiCase.

Literatures and Languages Library

Literatures and Languages Library's picture
Literatures and Languages Library
Contact:
225 Main Library
1408 W. Gregory Drive
Urbana, IL 61801
(217) 333-2220

Homepage: http://library.illinois.edu/llx
Website