Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Communication 111/112

A guide for library resources and research information for students in Communication 111 and 112.

Find current magazine articles

Links to current weekly magazine news sources.

If you are searching for older articles via the links on this page and are prompted to pay for an article use the Contact Us options in the box on the left for assistance.

Using the Journal Article Locator

Use the Journal Article Locator to find issues of a specific magazine to which the University Library has digital access.

 

To access magazines using the Journal Article locator, follow the steps below.

  1. Go to the Library homepage.
  2. Under the light blue "Databases & Journals" tab, click the Journal Article Locator.
  3. Once you're on the Journal Article Locator page, type the name of a magazine into the first search box, "Journal Name"
  4. Then, click the "Look for Journal Title or Article" button at the bottom of the form.

Note: You can search for a magazine using the full title (for example, "The Economist") or omit the initial word and just search for "Economist."

Journal article locator example with The Economist in the Journal Title search box

 

 

 

  1. After you search for a magazine title, you will see a Discover page with your search results. Under the "Journal Title Matches" section, click "Start of Title Matches."

Journal Article Locator search results for "the economist." Arrows point to the Journal Title Matches section and the "Start of title matches" section

  1. After you click "Start of Title Matches," you will see different publication titles.
  2. Under the second result, "The Economist," you will notice that there are links to different databases. These databases have varying year coverage, so pay close attention to the information under the links to find the year or issue you need.

Note: Sometimes the magazine you need is not the first search result. In our example, "The Economist" is the second result. You can always verify that it is the magazine you want by looking for the magazine ISSN.

The results for "The Economist" showing library databases that carry this magazine and the year coverage for that database.

 

  1. Navigate into the database and locate the issue you need!

Do you have more questions? Ask a Librarian!